Tuesday, May 21, 2024

Zasivi FC & NCRC PR Hill emerges NCRC Sümi penalty shootout winners

Open Penalty Shoot out
Men's and women's champions of NCRC Sumi Open Penalty Shootout with special guest Dr Kitaka Sukhato Wotsa with officials and dignitaries. (Inset) E-in-C NPWD Er Kahuli Sema duriong the inaugural session.

Kohima, July 2: Zasivi Football Club and NCRC P.R. Hill Kohima today lifted champion’s title in men’s and women’s category respectively of the Nagaland Christian Revival Church (NCRC) Sümi Youth Department organized open penalty shootout.
With the participation of 51 teams – 45 men’s and six women teams, the penalty shootout was held at Indira Gandhi Stadium Kohima.
Zasivi FC defeated Foster FC to emerge champion and bag Rs 40,000 with citation. Runners-up Foster FC got Rs 20,000 with citation. Niekezo Rio of Foster FC won the best goal-keeper award and received Rs 2,000.
In the women’s category, the NCRC P.R. Hill defeated IT Team in the final to receive Rs 8,000 as the champion. Runners-up I T Team got Rs 5,000 while third place winners United Girls Club got Rs 2,000. Aluhunuo Vitsu of NCRC P.R. Hill was declared the best women’s custodian and received Rs 1,000.
Gracing the valedictory function as special guest, Dr Kitaka Sukhato Wotsa gave away the prizes to the winners.
Exhorting the gathering, he said in life we face more failures than success and if we cannot overcome failures we will find it difficult to achieve success. He, therefore, opined that games and sports should be taken as an opportunity to experience, understand and overcome failures.
He encouraged the youngsters saying that in sports and life, luck may favour some but the harder one works the luckier they become.
Earlier, speaking during the inaugural session of the championship as guest of honour, Engineer-in-Chief, Nagaland PWD, Kahuli Sema encouraged the participants to keep the spirit of comradeship, which is the prime stress of sports. She also stressed on the need for all to remember God as without Him nothing is possible.
NCRC Sümi Youth Department president Manasseh Swu delivered the welcome address while Vito Sheqi, YSCM tendered the vote of thanks. (Page News Service)