Thursday, April 15, 2021

WW II Peace Rally held at Kisama

Peace Rally
Winner of the World War II peace rally at Naga Heritage
village on 6th December 2018. (DIPR)

Kohima, December 6: The World War II Peace Rally, organised by Nagaland Adventure & Motor Sports Association (NAMSA), to commemorate the Battle of Kohima was held on Thursday. The flagging off ceremony began at Indira Gandhi Stadium, Kohima.
Chief Minister & Festival Host, Neiphiu Rio while gracing the prize distribution ceremony as the special invitee said the main objective of WW II peace rally is to promote peace in the region and to convey to the people of other regions that we love peace and tranquillity in our land.
The WWII has left an indelible mark in the history of Nagas as many soldiers had lost their precious lives including the innocent villagers, he said and appealed to all the participants to continue their participation even in the years to come in order to promote peace in the country. He urged all the participants coming from outside the state to join hands with the organising association in order to promote WW II peace rally across the globe.
The World War II Peace Rally is organised every year by NAMSA as part of the Hornbill festival to make the festival more eventful as well as to promote peace.
Advisor, NAMSA & Advisor to the Chief Minister of Nagaland, Abu Metha in his opening remarks thanked all the participants who have come from different parts of the state and different regions of the country. He said WW11 Peace Rally was the brainchild of the Chief Minister of Nagaland, Neiphiu Rio with a vision to spread the message of peace and love irrespective of region.
Theja Meru was the master of ceremony in the prize distribution ceremony. Band display was performed by Assam Rifles while parade commander, Moa Longkumer gave the battle report.
Altogether 12 Jeep vehicles with 4 participants from each Jeep participated at the WW II Peace Rally.
(Page News Service)

1. Most Original Vehicle (Most prestigious prize) – Jeep No.2 from Dimapur (Rs 1,50,000)
2. Best Maintained Vehicle – Jeep No.3 from Meghalaya (Rs 70,000)
3. Best Ladies Squad – Jeep No. 5 (Rs 30,000)
4. Best Uniformed Squad – Jeep No. 3 from Meghalaya (Rs 30,000)
5. Best Weaponry Team – Jeep No. 6 (Rs 20,000)
6. Best Tourism Promotional Team – Jeep No. 8 from Myanmar (Rs 20,000)
7. Best Disciplined Squad – Jeep No. 7 (Rs 20,000)
8. Best Scout of the Day – Jeep No. 4 from Jowai (Rs 10,000)
9. Most Promising Team – Jeep No. 1 from Kohima (Rs 10,000)