Saturday, July 24, 2021

Winners of HIPFEST contest declared

Kohima, December 7: The Hornbill International Photo Festival (HIPFEST) organised by the Department of Information & Public Relations in collaboration with Eastern Art Council and supported by Tourism Department is underway from December 1 to 10 at Kisama.
Coordinator, Eastern Art Council, M. Ababe Ezung who is looking after the management of HIPFEST since its inception said the main objective of Photography Contest coinciding with the Hornbill festival is to provide the right platform for young and budding artists in the state.
He told IPR officials that there are many photographers in Nagaland who have been endowed with talent but due to lack of platform and encouragement they could not promote their photographs at par with others. Keeping this concern in mind, the photography contest is being organised at Kisama in order to develop enthusiasm and provide platform for the young and upcoming photographers. He said the participants is becoming more and more after every edition besides improving on quality of photographs and people developing seriousness on photography.
Ababe also mentioned that the photographs collected over the years will be exhibited in the countries of Myanmar, US & Thailand.
Interestingly, Chief Minister of Nagaland, Neiphiu Rio also participated in the competition with 3 photographs.
Heather Layton, one of the judges for the competition said that she was honoured to be partaking in the photography contest. She said that she could see the past, present and the future of Nagaland after seeing the pictures as it depict the characteristics of the Nagas in many ways.
“The photos are very well displayed and each photo has its own unique history”, she commented.
The judges for this year’s competition are well known personalities in the field of photography which includes Artist & Professor of Art, University of Rochester, Newyork USA, Heather Layton, Director of Miracle Post, Myanmar and the acclaimed photographer & videographer, Wunna Kyaw, well known photographer & proprietor of artworks from Nagaland, Merimvu Doulo and Coordinator, Eastern Art Council, M. Ababe Ezung.
The contest is held in two categories; General category with the theme ‘Colours of Nagaland’ and the junior category under 15 years in the theme ‘Mood & Emotion’.
In general category, the 1st position was bagged by Sara Lorin, 2nd – Achano Tungoe, 3rd – Samrat Sengupta & 2 consolation prizes were bagged by Sophy Lasuh and Njune Lorin. They will get Rs 40,000, Rs 20,000, Rs 10,000 and Rs 5,000 respectively.
State Chief Minister, Neiphiu Rio who submitted three entries got an ‘Honourable Mention’ from the judges.
In junior category, the 1st position was bagged by Chenogi Tep, 2nd – Kenyuhile Lorin & 3rd – Kikruleno Casavi. They will get Rs 10,000, Rs 5,000 and Rs 2,000 respectively.
Altogether 59 participants vied for the contest in the general category and 8 in the junior’s category.
The prize distribution ceremony will be held at the culmination programme of the Hornbill Festival on December 10. Organizers have requested the prize winners to be present at the closing function to collect their prizes. (Page News Service)