Monday, May 27, 2024

Walkathon organised to create voters awareness at Wokha

Nagaland News

Dimapur, April 12: As part of Systematic Voters Education and Electoral Participation (SVEEP) activities and in view of the ensuing General Election to Lok Sabha, a walkathon was conducted at Wokha Town on April 12, led by the Deputy Commissioner, SDO (C) Nodal Officer for SVEEP and District Election Officer, Wokha with an aim to create awareness and encourage voters to come forward and cast their vote.
The event commenced at Police Point, Wokha and concluded at NST junction which saw participation from students, teachers and officials from different schools and departments within Wokha District.
Addressing the event, Deputy Commissioner & District Election Officer Wokha, Ajit Kumar Rajan, praised the students for their active participation.
He stressed that elections represent the core values of democracy and are open to all citizens, encouraging enthusiastic and voluntary engagement while underscoring the need for a transparent and ethical process.
He further called on everyone to take part in the electoral process, highlighting the importance of every individual votes.
Sub-Divisional Officer (Civil) & Nodal Officer (SVEEP), Wokha, Nuhuta Tunyi, speaking at the event stated that the event was organized as part of the Systematic Voters’ Education and Electoral Participation (SVEEP) initiative in preparation for the upcoming Lok Sabha election.
He emphasised that the primary goal of these programs is to raise awareness about the significance of elections and to ensure high voter turnout. He noted that it serves as a platform to educate and inspire new voters and students about their rights.
He also encouraged the younger generation to exercise their voting rights and contribute to societal change by selecting the most suitable candidate.
Later, the results of the essay and slogan writing competition, held on April 5, at Libemo Memorial School in Wokha, were announced. In the High School category, Areni T Kikon of Class 9 claimed the first position, followed by Lireni M Ngullie of Class 9 in second place, and Lumchamo S Khuvung of Class 10 in third place.
In the Higher Secondary category, Epibeni Humtsoe from Class 12 secured the first position, with Tahara Begam of Class 12 in second place, and Mhachoni Ngullie, also from Class 12, in third place.
(Page News Service)