Thursday, May 6, 2021

Vanguard FC Tseminyu lifts 9th Eagles’ Trophy

Kohima, January 3: Defending champions Vanguard FC – Tseminyu overcame Ehunnu & Yikhanu Students’ Union 4-1 in the finals on Thursday at KSU Ground, K.Station to lift the 9th Eagles’ Trophy.
The 9th Eagles’ Trophy organized by Eagles’ Club K.Station commenced on December 27 last.
E&YSU took the lead in the first-half through a penalty converted by Philip Kath but VFC came back strongly in the second half with goals from Captain Nyithong Magh, Yhunshalo Kemp, Sinlo Kent and Ntsenlo Semp to make it 4-1 and took the trophy home for the second time.
The champions walked away with the trophy, cash prize of Rs 30,000 and certificates while the runners-up was awarded Rs 20,000 and certificates.
Captain Nyithong Magh was awarded the Man of the Final as well as the Player of the Tournament. Vanguard Sinlo Kent got the Highest Scorer of the Tournament (9 goals) while E&YSU’s Alfred Kath was awarded the Best Goalkeeper.
Mosenlo Apon, DSP Tseminyu, 4th NAP B’ Coy Commander was the Match Patron of the final. Altogether 15 teams participated in the 9th edition of the Eagles’ Trophy and the next edition will be played in 2020.
(Page News Service)