Tuesday, July 23, 2024

UTRC recommends bail/release for 14 UTPs/convicts

Nagaland News

Dimapur, April 18: During the 1st quarter meeting of Under Trail Review Committee (UTRC) held across Nagaland in March, the committee considered 49 cases of Under Trial Prisoners (UTPs)/convicts and 14 UTPs/convicts were recommended for bail/release.
A press release on Monday informed that 2 UTP/convicts were subsequently released.
Mokokchung DLSA conducted its UTRC meeting at District Court. The meeting was chaired by WV Patton, secretary, MDLSA. Somet Chang, chairperson of MDLSA, Aotula SP, Mokokchung, EAC Vitulo from District Administration, Jessica, jailer from SP jail, APP attended the meeting.
Mon DLSA conducted the meeting through video conference. Eight UTPs were recommended to release on bail. The Committee also reminded once again to inform their family about two UTPs who were already recommended during last UTRC meeting to be released on bail and the bail order has been passed by the Court but yet to execute the surety.
All 57 UTPs and 15 convicts were reported from the jail authority. WV Patton (NJS) Chief Judicial Magistrate cum Secretary DLSA Mon, Chingak Konyak (NCS) ADC Mon, Imtiakum SDPO, Thungdemo Lotha, Asst Jailor and M Moba, Retainer Lawyer attended the meeting.
Longleng DLSA conducted its meeting on March 30. The members present were Superintendent of Police, Longleng, EAC Roko, Public Prosecutor-cum-Government, Pleader, Panel Lawyer, LDLSA. Presently, there are 16 UTPs lodged in Mokokchung District Jail. All UTPs have been legally represented. Three UTPs were identified for default bail and informed of their right under Section 167(2) CrPC.
Tuensang DLSA conducted the meeting at the office of Superintendent of jail Tuensang. SP Jail Tuensang Solezhol Neikha, Soteth Anar project assistant, Antimangyang Chang retainer lawyer, T Sangle jailor Tsg, Chubasangle Chang assistant jailor attended the meeting.
During the meeting the members decided to start having physical production in the court and 3 UTPs were recommended for legal aid. Presently, there are 28 male and 1 female UTPs and 4 male convicts (SI) 5 male (RI) in the district Jail Tuensang.
In Peren, the meeting was presided by the Peter Resu, CJM Peren, and attended by James Jami, SDPO Peren, Ihoilung EAC Peren, Asungbe N Hau (Retainer Lawyer PDLSA), Italang Ramlia (Project Assistant PDLSA) along with Bankathung Patton (Asst. Jailor) wherein the committee discussed about the medical facilities to be accorded to the inmates of Peren District Jail and urged the jail authorities to provide the necessary medical aid and facilities to the inmates as and when required at the earliest.
The budget allocation for medical expenses for inmates was also discussed in the meeting wherein the jail authorities highlighted that the sanctioned budget for medical expenses for Peren District Jail was inadequate to meet the required expenses as such charitable contribution from jail officers and staff are being done to meet any urgent and immediate medical expenses.
In Dimapur, the meeting was attended by Inalo Zhimomi, PD&SJ, Seyielenuo Mezhii, CJM, C Motsunthung Yanthan, Supt of Jail, District jail, Yanshumthung Jungio, Asst. Jailor, Central jail, Tiamenla ADCP, Sonile Seb, Retainer lawyer and Nukshimatong, EAC.
In the meeting, 10 UTPs were identified and recommended for release. Two UTPs from central jail were found to be mentally unsound therefore the jail authority was directed to take them to the psychiatrist to evaluate their mental condition and place the report before the chairman of the DDLSA.
In Kohima, the meeting was held at district and sessions court building Kohima. UTRC chairman Y Longkumer & Principal District and Sessions Judge Kohima, Nokshei Kano (CJM and Secretary KDLSA member Teisi Thou (Jailor district Jail Kohima) member and Imsentila Pongen PL in-charge of legal aid clinic jail attended the said meeting.
Zunheboto DLSA conducted its meeting at District Court Complex, Zunheboto. The meeting was chaired by Wokono Yhoshii, Secretary, ZDLSA. At present there are 16 UTPs and 6 convicts.
One recommendation was made by the committee. Shikato Swu (SDPO), Mopling Phom (EAC), Jenithung, (Asst. Jailor), Katoli T Chishi (APP), Tovi Yeptho (DPA), Easter Yepthomi (RL) and Inolito Swu (PL) attended the meeting.
Wokha DLSA held its meeting at District & Sessions Judge Room. The members present were Duvelu Vero, Chairperson/District & Sessions Judge Wokha, Khrievono Seletsu Secretary/JMFC WDLSA, Imkongsangba Jamir SDPO, Yanrenthung Kikon, Superintendent of Jail Wokha, Akatoli Achumi , APP Wokha, Adv. Shanchobeni P Lotha, DPA WDLSA Adv. Meribemo A Lotha Retainer Lawyer WDLSA , Adv. Renbonthung Tsanglao Panel Lawyer District Jail Wokha .
Kiphire DLSA held the meeting at District Court Complex, Kiphire.
(Page News Service)