Saturday, June 15, 2024
Top Stories

ULB polls’ ‘Election Programme’ notified

Nagaland News

MCC in force with immediate effect within MC, TC areas

DIMAPUR, MARCH 9: The State Election Commission, Nagaland, today notified the ‘Election Programme’ to conduct the general election to 3 Municipal Councils and 36 Town Councils in the State along with 33% reservation of seats for women.
As per the notification issued today by State Election Commissioner, T Mhabemo Yanthan, the period of filing of nomination is from April 3 to 10 (up to 3 p.m.), scrutiny of nomination papers on April 12 & 13, last date of withdrawal of candidature on April 24; date of poll on May 16 and declaration of results on May 19.
With 23 Wards, Dimapur Municipal Council (DMC) has the highest number of Wards among Municipal Councils while Wokha Town Council (WTC) with 15 Wards is the biggest Town Council in the State. With 33% reservation of seats for women coming into effect, DMC will have 8 Wards reserved for women while WTC will have 5 Wards reserved for women in the Town Council.
In total, there are 416 Wards in the 3 Municipal Councils and 36 Town Councils, out of which 141 Wards have been reserved for women.
Not only 33% reservation of seats for women is being effected but there is also reservation of the office of Chairperson for women in the ensuing Municipal and Town Council Elections 2023.
According to the notification, out of the 3 Municipal Councils in the State, the office of the Chairperson in Dimapur Municipal Council (DMC) has been reserved for women, while the office of the Chairperson has been reserved for women in 12 Town Councils – Atoizu, Chiephobozou, Kiphire, Longleng, Meluri, Naginimora, Peren, Pungro, Shamator, Tizit,Tuensang and Zunheboto.
The notification informed that the Electoral Rolls for the Municipal and Town Councils election have been prepared with reference to January 1, 2022 as the qualifying date and finally published on November 24, 2022.
With the announcement of the ‘Election Programme’, the Model Code of Conduct comes into force with immediate effect within the entire Municipal and Town Council areas going to the poll.
(Page News Service)a