U-23 Cricket: Dimapur, Zbto qualifies from Group-A


Dimapur, April 13: In the ongoing Under-23 Inter-District Cricket tournament today, Zunhboto defeated Mon by 18 runs in the first match while Dimapur defeated Peren by 40 runs.
Electing to bat first, Zunheboto scored 151 for 7 in 20 overs with Kihika being the highest scorer at 34. Zhubham and Nihuto contributed 31 and 15 runs respectively.
For Mon, Dheeraj took 2 wickets.
Chasing a target of 152 to win, Mon managed to score only 133 for the loss of 5 wickets in 20 overs. Phaknyu scored 53 while Deeraj 42 to the team.
For Zunheboto, Shubham took 2 wickets.
In the second match, Dimapur won the toss and elected to bat first and scored 163 for 7 in 23 overs.
Sedezhalie was the highest scorer with 66, followed by Mannarayan 35 and Puchu 16.
Om Sangma claimed 4 wickets, while Raja took 2.
Chasing 164 to wink, Peren were bundled out at 73 in 11.5 overs. Shubham and Argha scored 18 and 11 runs respectively.
For Dimapur, Tahmeed and Akavi claimed 3 wickets each.
After 3rd day’s game, Dimapur and Zunheboto have qualified from Group-A.

Saturday’s Matches
Wokha vs Mkg at 8 a.m.
Kohima Vs Tuensang at 1 pm
(Page News Service)