Saturday, February 27, 2021

U-19 (Boys) inter-district tournament: Dimapur champions of inaugural edition

U 19 Boys inter district tournament

DIMAPUR, JANUARY 26: Dimapur lifted the Inaugural G Rio memorial U-19 (Boys) inter-district tournament after defeating Peren by 5 wickets in the final played at Nagaland Cricket Stadium, Sovima in Dimapur on Tuesday.

Peren posted just 75 runs on the board as they were bowled out in 26.2 overs after electing to bat first. Captain Parbez contributed 32 runs.
For Dimapur, Arjun scalped 3 wickets.
The chase lasted only 12 overs as Dimapur hunted down the target with 5 wickets in the bank. Sujal remained not out at 43.
Honours for player of the tournament went to Rokovoto Nyekha (Peren); best batsman, Mughavi (Zunheboto); best bowler, Raja Swarnkar (Dimapur); and best wicket-keeper, Yungandhar Singh (Dimapur).
Mokokchung team was given the spirit of cricket award.
Advisor for Sericulture, Excise and Minority Affairs, Zhaleo Rio graced the closing and prize distribution ceremony as special guest.
(Page News Service)