U-17 women’s national football championship

womens national football
Players of Nagaland team along with coach and manager at Guwahati.

Nagaland girls beat Ladakh by 2-1

Kohima, June 22: Nagaland women team (U-17 girls) registered a 2-1 win over Ladakh at the ongoing Hero Junior (U-17) Women’s National Football Championship played at Indira Gandhi Athletic Stadium Practice Ground, Guwahati on Wednesday.
A first half goal from Dziezechunuo and Chimmushe were enough to secure a victory for Nagaland despite conceding a goal in the second half.
In the game, Nagaland team scored the first goal through Dziezechunuo in the 40th minute and four minutes later Chimmushe added the second goal to make it 2-0 in the first half. Despite Aliya Ashraf scoring for Ladakh in the 69th minute, Nagaland team were able to hold on the lead till the final whistle.
After a fine display by Chimmushe, she was awarded the player of the match.
State coach Ropfu Meyase after the match said it was a well contested match, with Nagaland dominating the first half and Ladakh playing better in the second half.
“We will try to give our best in next two matches,” said the coach.
Advisor for Youth Resources and Sports, Zale Neikha took on Twitter to congratulate the team success. “A big congratulations to team Nagaland Women (U-17) for winning their 1st match at National Women Football Championship,” he tweeted.
The championship began on June 18 in five different venues in Guwahati, Assam. A total of 34 teams are participating with 8 groups, with the teams in each group set to play against each other for the qualifying stage. The winners of each group will play the quarter finals matches.
Nagaland is clubbed in group E with Ladakh, Punjab and Kerala. While Kerela beat Punjab by 6-1 in the other match of the Group E. Nagaland girls will play their next match against Kerela on June 24 and last match on June 26 against Punjab.
The tournament will be held in five venues – Indira Gandhi Athletic Stadium, Sai New Field- Paltan Bazer, Nehru Stadium, Lnipe- Sonapur, and Dimakuchi Stadium in Guwahati. (Page News Service)