Team DYRS emerges overall champs of 31st Nagaland Taekwondo Championship


Kohima, July 27: Debutants Team Department of Youth Resources & Sports (DYRS) today emerged the overall champions of the 31st Nagaland State Taekwondo Championship organized by Nagaland Taekwondo Association (NTA) at Indira Gandhi Stadium Kohima here.
Players of DYRS has participated in the state level Taekwondo championship as a team for the first time as earlier they used to come along as players of Kohima District Taekwondo Association.
Clinching a total of 24 medals, including 21 gold, 2 silver and 1 bronze in different categories of the fights, Team DYRS bagged the overall champions. Tuensang District Taekwondo Association was adjudged as the best discipline team.
Dimapur District Taekwondo Association with 15 gold, 6 silver and 7 bronze medals were runners-up.
Director of Youth Resources and Sports, Imtirenla Jamir along Additional Director Rato Pusa and other sports officers, NTA President Pele Khezhie and colleagues gave away the awards to the winners this evening.
Altogether 118 male and 37 female players representing eight district taekwondo associations and two teams DYRS and Police competed in the championship.
(Page News Service)