Friday, May 24, 2024


North East

ECI orders re-poll in 8 polling stations in Arunachal Pradesh

ITANAGAR, APRIL 22: Election Commission of India has ordered re-polling in 8 polling stations in Arunachal Pradesh where EVM damage and violence were reported during polling to simultaneous Lok Sabha and Assembly polls on April 19, an official said. The Commission in an order on Sunday declared the polling in the 8 polling stations as void and ordered fresh polling on April 24 from 6 a.m. to 2 p.m, Deputy Chief Electoral Officer Liken Koyu said in a communique. The polling stations where re-poll would be held include, Sario in...
North East

‘EVMs, VVPATs destroyed, booths captured’: CEO seeks re-poll at 6 stations in Manipur

Imphal, April 20: Alleging that miscreants had destroyed voting machines and captured booths, the Manipur joint chief electoral officer sought re-polling at six booths in the Inner Manipur Parliamentary constituency on Saturday. In his letter to Election Commission of India (ECI) secretary Madhusudan Gupta, Joint Chief Electoral Officer, Manipur, Ramananda Nongmeikapam cited eruption of mob violence and instances of booth capturing, destruction of electronic voting machines (EVMs) and voter-verifiable paper audit trails (VVPATs) as the reason for seeking re-polling. While five polling stations are in Imphal West district, one of...