Saturday, July 13, 2024

Syed Mushtaq Ali trophy: Vidarbha crush Nagaland by 5 wickets

Dimapur, November 5: Former Ranji champions Vidarbha defeated Nagaland by five wickets to secure their second win on the trot in the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy T20 Plate group clash here on Friday.

Elected to bat, Nagaland batter found the going tough against some tidy bowling and smart fielding from their opponents to be restricted to a paltry 115 for 8.
Both openers Jonathan Rongsen and Sedezhalie Rupreo started off well and were in great form however they could not capitalized it as the latter was ran out while he was on 10 runs.
Former Rajasthan wicketkeeper-batsman Chetan Bist anchored the Nagaland innings and remained at the crease till the penultimate over with a fighting 46-ball 44 (1×4, 1×6).
But Bist’s effort was not enough as he lacked support at the other end with Vidarbha taking wickets at regular intervals. That three of their batters got run outs also hurt Nagaland badly.
For Vidarbha, Y R Thakur claimed 2 wickets while Umesh Yadav, D G Nalkande and A A Wakhare picked a wicket each.
In the run chase, Vidarbha had a poor start as their opener SK Wath was bowled by Abu Nechim in the 2nd delivery of the first over. Nagaland bowlers put up a tough fight but went down by 5 wickets as the target was not good enough against a prominent team & Vidarbha reached the target in just 17.5 overs.

For Nagaland, Khrievitso Kense took 2 wickets (2/27). Abu Nechim (1/18) and Imliwati (1/24) claimed a wicket each.
Nov 6 match
Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy
Nagaland Vs Mizoram at 8:30 a.m. at ACA Stadium,M angalagiri, Vijayawada)
Senior Women’s One Day tropy
Nagaland Vs Bihar at 9 a.m. at 22 Yards, Salt Lake, Kolkata)
(Page News Service)