Tuesday, September 21, 2021

State Power Committee to monitor plastic ban constituted

Dimapur, March 6: The Department of Environment, Forests and Climate Change, in a notification, has informed a State Empowered Committee to monitor the ban of single use plastics in the State has been constituted with Abhishek Singh, Principal Secretary, Urban Development Department as Chairman.
The members are Rovilatuo Mor, Secretary, Home Department; Martha Ritse, Additional Secretary,
Rural development Department; Dr. Y. Atsase Thongtsar, OSD, Environment, Forests & Climate Change Department; Elizabeth Ngully, Joint Secretary, Urban Development Department; Sentiwapang, Joint Secretary, Industries and Commerce Department; Linda Solo, Joint Secretary, Public Health Engineering (PHED) Department; Limawati, Director, Information and Public Relations Department; Rusovil John, Member Secretary, Nagaland State Pollution Control Board; Rongsenmmenla, Under Secretary, Municipal Affairs Department; Kovi Meyase, Administrator Kohima Municipal Council; and Thangi Manen, Retired Commissioner & Secretary to the Government of Nagaland as Special Invitee.
The Committee will draft the guidelines and time frame for enforcing total ban of plastics in the State as notified by the Government; suggest measures and actions to be taken for the effective implementation of the ban and monitor the progress on the implementation of the ban.
It would also receive feedbacks from Government Agencies, NGOs, other stakeholders and issue instructions thereof.
(Page News Service)