Tuesday, April 20, 2021

State officials visit Maharana Club, Cotton University

Dimapur, November 9: Officials from the Departments of Youth Resources & Sports (YRS), Information & Public Relations (IPR) & Nagaland Football Association (NFA) visited the Maharana Club and Cotton University, Guwahati on November 9.
The initiative is being carried out by the Government of Nagaland as part of the yearlong celebration in honour of the legendary footballer, Dr T Ao from Changki Village on his 100th birth anniversary. He was the first Olympian from Nagaland who captained Indian football team to the Summer London Olympics Games in 1948. The main objective of the tour is to meet and interact with officials of the Maharana Club and faculty members of the Cotton University from where he studied and started his career as a professional footballer.
While interacting with them, the officials from Nagaland minutely apprised them about the initiatives and programmes undertaken by the Government of Nagaland so far, stating that the government has declared the year 2018 as the yearlong celebration of Dr T Ao. At the same time, they also invited them to be a part of the culmination programme which is slated to be held at Kohima on January 28, 2019.
President, Maharana Athletics Club, Rana Pratap Bordoloi thanked the officials from Nagaland for visiting the club and assured them that he will be a part of the culmination programme next year. He said it was under the leadership of Dr T Ao, the club gained popularity in terms of fame and recognition all over India.
Vice Chancellor, Cotton University, Professor, BC Goswami while interacting with the officials from Nagaland highly praised the legendary footballer for his immense contributions and leadership provided not only to the university but also the country at large. “We are short in stature but endowed with talents”, he said. “If Chinese and Korean can do it why cant we”, he asked.
The team was led by Additional Director, YRS, Rato Pusa. He was accompanied by Assistant Director, YRS, Jakedovo Chase, APRO, IPR, Nongozo Rikha, Video journalist, Bendangsunep Jamir, former International footballer & holder of ‘B’ license, Roko Angami, Junior State Coach, Ruopfu Meyase and Head, Youth Development, Football Club Aizawl & the only ‘A’ license holder from Nagaland, William Koso. (Page News Service)