Tuesday, July 27, 2021

State-level appellate MCMC constituted

Nagaland News

DIMAPUR, MARCH 19: Following the announcement of bye-election to 51-Noksen (ST) Assembly Constituency, a state-level appellate Media Certification and Monitoring Committee (MCMC) has been formed.
The members include Abhijit Sinha, Chief Electoral Officer, as chairman; one observer appointed by the ECI; Z Tokishe Sema, Director of Information & Public Relations; K Sonikumar Singh, Assistant Director of PIB Kohima; Alice Yhoshu, president of Kohima Press Club; and Ruokuovituo Khezhie, Jt. Chief Electoral Officer, as member secretary.
The MCMC shall perform two sets of functions: deciding appeal from both district and Addl. CEO committees on certification of advertisement as per the Commission order No.509/75/2004/JS-I Dated 15th April 2004; and examining all cases of paid news on appeal against the decision of District MCMC or cases taken up suo motu, in which case, it shall direct the concerned ROs to issue notices to the candidates.
(Page News Service)