Friday, April 19, 2024
Top Stories

Sonia, 2 BJP candidates win biennial RS polls uncontested from Raj

sonia gandhi

JAIPUR, FEBRUARY 20: Congress Parliamentary Party (CPP) Chairperson Sonia Gandhi and two BJP candidates, Madan Rathore and Chunnilal Garcia, won the Rajya Sabha biennial elections on 3 Rajasthan seats uncontested.
As the last date for the withdrawal of nomination papers ended at 3 p.m. on Tuesday neither the BJP fielded a third candidate, nor did the Opposition Congress try to play any politics, the Election Officer and Assembly Secretary Mahavir Prasad Sharma said while announcing the result at Vidhan Sabha.
Former Prime Minister Dr Manmohan Singh (Congress) and BJP’s Union Minister Bhupendra Yadav will retire as Rajya Sabha MPs on April 3, 2024. The third seat fell vacant following the resignation of BJP’s RS MP Kirori Lal Meena who contested the Rajasthan Legislative Assembly elections and became the Agriculture Minister in the Bhajan Government.
Of the 200 members of the Rajasthan Legislative Assembly, the ruling BJP has 115 MLAs against the Congress’ 70 while the Bhartiya Tribal Party has 3, BSP 2, RLD and RLP have 1 MLA each and the Independents 8.
(Courtesy: TS)