Monday, December 4, 2023
Top Stories

Shashi Tharoor, Piyanka, Rahul in list of Congress star campaigners

Tharoor Rahul

DIMAPUR, FEBRUARY 9: The AICC on Thursday released names of its star campaigners for the election campaign in Nagaland.
Among the prominent names are Shashi Tharoor, the much popular debater among Congress MPs and who had unsuccessfully contested recently at the organizational polls for party presidentship.
Others in the list include Rahul Gandhi, Priyanka and also new Congress chief Mallikarjun Kharge. The list released by AICC general secretary (Organisation) also include Rajasthan Chief Minister Ashok Gehlot, former Manipur CM Ibobi Singh, former Nagaland Chief Minister KL Chishi and also incumbent pradesh Congress chief K Theirie
In the organisational polls it is presumed out of 46 delegates from Nagaland at least most of them understandably voted for Tharoor though the ‘official’ candidate for the dynasty was Mallilarjun Kharge.
In the run up to the Congress party’s internal polls, One Naga leader had said, “I will certainly vote for Tharoor.” He would not speak more.
Another Congress leader says, “The younger generation leaders in Nagaland will always prefer Tharoor.”
The Congress party has put up candidates in some important constituencies such as Dimapur I and Northern Angami-2.
(Page News Service)