Sharingain files nomination for Speaker election; NPF to field Dr Imtiwapang

Sharingain files nomination for Speaker  election; NPF to field Dr Imtiwapang

Last Updated on

Kohima, February 3: Incumbent Deputy Speaker of Nagaland Legislative Assembly (NLA), Sharingain Longkumer has filed his nomination for the post on Speaker.
The post of speaker became vacant following the demise of the then Speaker Vikho-o Yhoshü on December 30 last.
First time MLA, Longkumer was elected as ruling NDPP candidate in the bye-poll for Aonglenden Assembly Constituency held in May last year.
He filed the nomination for the post of Speaker as the consensus candidate of People’s Democratic Alliance (PDA) before the NLA Secretary Dr P J Antony.
PDA comprises of Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party (NDPP), BJP and an Independent MLA.
BJP MLA Kashiho Sangtam proposed Longkumer’s name while NDPP MLA K T Sukhalu seconded, Assembly sources said.
On other hand the only opposition in the Assembly – Naga People’s Front (NPF) would be fielding former Speaker, Dr Imtiwapang Aier for the post, said NPF legislator wing spokesperson, MLA Imkong L Imchen.
NPF secretary general Achumbemo Kikon told reporters that a whip has already been issued and all the NPF legislators, including the 7 suspended members, will abide by it.
Seven out of the 25 NPF MLAs were suspended during the last Lok Sabha elections for defying the collective decision of the party.
Though suspended from the party, they are still NPF legislators inside the Assembly, Kikon said while citing the past rulings of the Court.
In the 60 member House, the current strength is NDPP – 20, BJP – 12, NPF – 25 and one Independent MLA while two seats are vacant.
The election for the post of NLA Speaker has been fixed for February 7 next, the first day of budget session.
In the absence of Speaker and Deputy Speaker of the House, one of the Panel of Chairmen of the State Assembly is likely to conduct the proceedings of the Speaker’s election.
Ruling party MLAs Dr Neikiesalie Nicky Kire and Namri Nchang are the two chairmen. (Page News Service)