Sechü-Zubza beats Twenty-XI to lift Kohima Football League-2


Champion’s Sechü-Zubza along with guest of honour Pele Khezhie and officials of organizing committee at Kohima Local Ground on August 25, 2018.

Kohima, August 26: Debutants Sechü-Zubza Football Club reigned over the solitary goal against Twenty-XI FC Viswema to lift the champion’s trophy of Kohima Football League organised by Kohima Town Club here.
Playing a crucial last match of the premier football league in the State capital, Sechü-Zubza defeated Twenty-XI with an all important solitary goal scored through the boots of Zeaneikho Miasalhou in the 8th minute.
Notably, the new champions could have scored more during the first 45 minutes but Twenty-XI custodian Neithongulie Kuotsu was alert enough to thwart in further increase of margin.
However, after the lemon break, Twenty-XI did make efforts to return to the game but unfortunately skipper Metor Neikha missed the post from inside the D’box in 50th minute while Viho Kin failed to properly utilize the mis-coordination between rival custodian and defence in 59th minute.
Thereafter, Sechü-Zubza also did make two decisive moves but custodian Kuotsu saved the attempts from Aloumei Panmei in 61st minute and also a header from Menuoseituo Sano in 68th minute while Hanglen Chang’s shot went off the play hitting the post in 77th minute.
Nonetheless, Miaslhou’s early goal helped Sechü-Zubza earn full points to be top of the league with 26 points to lift the glittering trophy and walk away with Rs 1 lakh cash award, citation and medals.
Ziekezou Sporting Club with 23 points were placed runners-up to receive Rs 80,000 cash with citations and medals.
The individual awards comprising of cash, citation and trophy went to:
Best Fans Club: Sechü-Zubza FC
Fair Play Club Award: Twenty XI FC
Best Goal-keeper: P Angki Konyak of United 16 FC
Best Defender: Hekato Aye of New Market
Best Midfielder: Khiuwangbo Kaurinthah of Sechü-Zubza
Highest goal-scorer: Shurhosul Zhotso of Sechü-Zubza FC with 12 goals
Player of the Tournament: Apoto Rhetso of Twenty XI Viswema
Best Coach: Zakietuolie Khrodi of Sechü-Zubza FC
Meanwhile, gracing the valedictory function as the guest of honour, President of Nagaland Contractors’ & Suppliers Union, Pele Khezhie gave away the awards. (Page News Service)