Monday, February 26, 2024
Top Stories

Rio-led NDPP-BJP-2 Govt. to be sworn in on March 7

Nagaland News

KOHIMA, MARCH 6: The deck is finally set for the swearing-in ceremony of the Neiphiu Rio-led NDPP-BJP-2 Government for the second term in a row on Tuesday in Kohima.
Sources confirmed that the swearing-in ceremony of People’s Democratic Alliance (PDA) Government having 37 members out of the 60 seats in the State Assembly will be held at 1:30 p.m. in the Capital Cultural Hall, Kohima.
Sources said that Prime Minister Narendra Modi and other VVIPs, including Union Home Minister Amit Shah and BJP National President JP Nadda will attend the ceremony, wherein Nagaland Governor La. Ganesan will administer the oath of office and secrecy to Rio as Chief Minister, Yanthungo Patton as Deputy CM and other 10 Cabinet Ministers.
It may be mentioned that with the NDPP-BJP to run the affairs of the State for the second term, history will be created as this will be the first time that Central Ministers, including Prime Minister Modi and Union Ministers, will be present for the swearing-in ceremony.
Earlier during the day on Monday, a closed-door meeting of the BJP Legislature Party unanimously re-elected Patton as their leader and also to carry the charge of Deputy Chief Minister.
The decision was taken in the presence of BJP national spokesperson Nalin Kohli and observer & Assam Minister Ranjeet Kumar Dass in Kohima.
“Humbled and honored to have been elected as the BLP Leader! My profound gratitude to each of the State BJP legislators for placing their trust in me! I assure to work tirelessly to fulfill the expectations of our party and the people of Nagaland”, tweeted Patton.
Meanwhile, NDPP sources said that having received the letter of support from BJP only today, Rio staked claim for formation of the Government only late night after the NDPP and BJP leaders had submitted their joint declaration to the Governor La. Ganesan at around 7 p.m., following a joint meeting of their legislators.
(Page News Service)