Friday, April 19, 2024
Top Stories

Re-poll peaceful in 2 polling stations in Pungro-Kiphire A/C

Repoll byeelection

KOHIMA, NOVEMBER 7: Fresh polls in two polling stations, under 60-Pungro-Kiphire Assembly Constituency of Nagaland, was conducted peacefully on Saturday with 72.09% of the electorate exercising their franchise.

Chief Electoral Officer, Abhijit Sinha said that peaceful polling was held in 8-Kipongya Ward ‘A’ Kiphire Town and 11-Singrep village polling stations of the Assembly segment from 6 a.m., under tight security deployment to thwart any untoward incident and strict adherence to COVID-19 protocols.
The Election Commission of India had announced fresh polling in the two polling stations declaring the votes polled on November 3 as void following disturbance of peaceful atmosphere on the poll day.
In the re-poll 74.71% of the 779 voters cast vote in Kipongya Ward A Kiphire Town while 69.48% of the 947 electorates exercised their franchise in Singrep, the CEO said.
With this the overall poll percentage of the bye-election to the two Assembly segment is 90.45%.
The 77 polling stations in Pungro-Kiphire have polled 91.57% votes while Southern Angami-I with 22 booths had 89.34 voters exercising their franchise.
Nagaland conducted by-poll to the two constituencies – 14-Southern Angami-1 and 60-Pungro-Kiphire on November 3. It was necessitated following the deaths of the then Assembly speaker and ruling NDPP MLA Vikho-o Yhoshu and opposition Naga People’s Front MLA T Torechu.
Altogether 8 candidates, including Congress, BJP, NPF and NDPP with 4 Independents are in fray for the two seats.
Counting of votes will take place on November 10 from 8 a.m. onwards, said Sinha.
(Page News Service)