Friday, June 14, 2024

Ravindra Jadeja, Hanuma Vihari return as BCCI announces India squad for WTC final and 5-Test series against England

World Test Championship

NEW DELHI, May 7: The fit-again duo of all-rounder Ravindra Jadeja and batsman Hanuma Vihari returned to a 20-man strong Indian squad announced on Friday for next month’s World Test Championship final against New Zealand and a five-match Test series against England.

The selectors also picked four standby players — Abhimanyu Easwaran, Prasidh Krishna, Avesh Khan, and Arzan Nagwaswalla, the BCCI stated in a press release.
KL Rahul, who underwent a surgery after being diagnosed with appendicitis, and Wriddhiman Saha, infected with COVID-19 during the recently-suspended IPL, have been included subject to their fitness.
Both Jadeja and Vihari had endured injuries during the away series against Australia earlier this year.
Jasprit Bumrah, who was rested for the fourth Test and the limited-over series against England also made a comeback in the squad for the four-month long tour.
Out-of-form spinner Kuldeep Yadav and pacer Navdeep Saini have been left out of the squad, which is expected to depart for England for the twin assignments in the third week of this month.
The WTC final against the Black Caps will be held from June 18 in Southampton followed by the Tests against England from August 4.

The 5-match Test series against England will start in Nottingham, followed by matches at the Lord’s (August 12 to 16), Leeds (August 25 to 29), The Oval (September 2 to 6) and Manchester (September 10 to 14). (PTI)
India’s squad
Rohit Sharma, Shubman Gill, Mayank Agarwal, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli (Captain), Ajinkya Rahane (vice-captain), Hanuma Vihari, Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Washington Sundar, Jasprit Bumrah, Ishant Sharma, Mohammed Shami, Mohammed Siraj, Shardul Thakur, Umesh Yadav, KL Rahul (subject to fitness clearance), Wriddhiman Saha (wicket-keeper; subject to fitness clearance).
Standby players: Abhimanyu Easwaran, Prasidh Krishna, Avesh Khan, Arzan Nagwaswalla.