Wednesday, September 22, 2021

Ranji Trophy: Nagaland beat Sikkim

Dimapur, December 28: Nagaland comfortably defeated Sikkim by nine wickets on the final day of the third round of Ranji Trophy 2019-20 on Saturday at KIIT Cricket Stadium, Bhubaneshwar. With the win, Nagaland secured six points, but missed the bonus point by a wicket.
Chasing 112 in the final session of play, Nagaland got the job done in 12.2 overs with the loss a wicket. S S Mundhe and YV Takawale made 45 and 43 runs respectively in quick time to secure the win. Jonathan made 17.
Going into the final day’s play trailing Sikkim by 198 runs, Nagaland were bowled out for 296 in 61.4 overs taking a slender 27 runs first inning lead thanks to Stuart Binny’s quick fire 135. Nagaho contributed 40 runs. For Sikkim, Ishwar Chaudhary took 5 wickets.
In the second inning, Sikkim were bowled out for 133 in 35.5 overs, leaving Nagaland to score 112 runs to win in the last hour of the final day’s play. Nagaho and Imliwati shared 8 Sikkim wickets between them.
Cooch Behar Trophy
In the Cooch Behar Trophy (2019-20), Nagaland defeated Sikkim by an inning and 57 runs on Day-2 of the 4-days match at the Golaghat DSA Ground, Golaghat.
Coming out to bat on Day-2 from the overnight first inning total of 21/2, Sikkim were bowled out for 155 in 49.2 overs, trailing Nagaland by 169 runs. For Sikkim only Bhim showed some resistance top scoring with 53. The next highest scorer was Anwesh with 18.
Ranjen took 4 Sikkim wickets and Daniel scalped 2 wickets for Nagaland.
With Nagaland enforcing the follow on, Sikkim were bowled out for 112 in 32.2 overs in the second inning, thus losing the match by an inning and 57 runs. It was Bhim again who top scored with 29 for Sikkim.
For Nagaland, Hem took 4 wickets and Vipul took 3.
Col C K Nayudu Trophy
In the Col C K Nayudu Trophy (2019-20), Nagaland were placed precariously at 30/4, trailing Chandigarh by 266 runs at stumps on Day-2 here at the Nagaland Cricket Stadium, Sovima.
Continuing for its overnight score of 102/4, Chandigarh were bowled out for 296 in 99.2 overs, with Amrit Lal Lubana completing his century (101) and Bhagmender Lather scoring a 62. For Nagaland, Akavi took 4 wickets and Shamwang took 3.
Coming out to bat, Nagaland were 30/4 when stumps were drawn. For Chandigarh, Mandeep Singh was the successful; bowler taking 3 Nagaland wickets.
(Page News Service)