Monday, May 27, 2024

Ranji Trophy 2023-24: Hyderabad beat Nagaland by an innings & 194 runs


Dimapur, January 6: Trailing by 439 runs on Day-2 Nagaland had a forgetful 1st innings as the bowling unit of Hyderabad dismantled the batting line up with Tanay Thyagarajan picking up 5 wickets in 17 overs. CV Milind and Kartikeya Kak took 2 wickets each while T Ravi Teja managed to pick up a wicket.
Nagaland could muster up only 153 runs having lost all its wickets with only a little action from Jaganath Sinivas who remained not out on 49 runs in 79 balls.
Nagaland collapsed to a skillful bowling display right after lunch and were sent to follow-on trailing by 321 runs.
Nagaland batting in the 2nd innings however could not survive another brilliant bowling display of the Hyderabad team as CV Milind 4 wickets and Tanay Thyagarajan 3 wickets bundled Nagaland out for 127 runs in 34 overs.
Sumit Kumar with 62 runs was the only notable run getter for Nagaland and he was ably supported by Jonathan Rongsen with 23 runs.
Hyderabad won by an innings and 194 runs.
Nagaland will next play Mizoram at Gujarat from January 12 to 15.
(Page News Service)