Friday, June 14, 2024

PV Sindhu, Ashmita Chaliha advance to quarterfinals of Malaysia Masters badminton tournament

Sindhu Ashmita

Kuala Lumpur, May 23: Indian shuttler and two-time Olympic medalist PV Sindhu advanced to the quarterfinals of the ongoing Malaysia Masters competition on Thursday.
In her second-round match, Sindhu faced a tough challenge against South Korea’s world number 34 shuttler Sim Yu Jin. After a gruelling 59-minute battle, Sindhu emerged victorious with scores of 21-13, 12-21, and 21-14.
She is set to face world number six Han Yue in the quarterfinals on Friday.
Ashmita Chaliha, ranked world number 53, caused an upset by defeating the 10th-ranked Beiwen Zhang of USA in a 43-minute match. Chaliha won the encounter with scores of 21-19, 16-21, and 21-12.
However, the Indian women’s doubles teams faced disappointment in their respective matches. Simran Singhi and Ritika Thaker lost to the Malaysian pair of Pearly Tan and Thinaah Muralitharan by 21-17, 21-11 in a 37-minute match. Similarly, Treesa Jolly and Gayatri Gopichand were defeated by the Chinese Taipei pair of Yu Chien Hui and Sung Shuo Yun with scores of 18-21, 22-20, and 14-21.
The Malaysia Masters, a Badminton World Federation (BWF) World Tour Super 500 level tournament, is being held from May 21 to 26 in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia.
PV Sindhu has previously won the women’s singles title in the competition twice, in 2013 and 2016, while Saina Nehwal secured the title in 2017. Last year, HS Prannoy emerged victorious, defeating Weng Hongyang of China by 21-19, 13-21, 21-18 in the final.
In other news, the Indian men’s doubles pair of
Satwiksairaj Rankireddy and Chirag Shetty recently won the Thailand Open, defeating China’s Chen Bo Yang and Liu Yi in straight sets.
This marked their second Thailand Open title, with their first victory coming in 2019. The latest BWF rankings released on Tuesday saw ‘Sat-Chi’ climb two spots to regain the top rank, accumulating 99,670 points. The Thailand Open title was their second of the year, following their French Open triumph in March.
(ToI Inputs from ANI)