Preparedness for Bye-Election in state


Dimapur, May 17: DC & DEO Dimapur, Sushil Kumar Patel, IAS has directed all polling personnel detailed for by-election duty to Nagaland Parliamentary Constituency 2018 to attend the 2nd phase training which will be held at Dimapur Government College, Dimapur on May 19.
He said that the training will be held from 10 am to 1 pm for Presiding Officers & 1st polling officers and from 2 pm to 4 pm for all polling personnel including grade IV staff for group familiarization.
He further stated that failure to attend the training shall be viewed seriously and strict action shall be initiated against the absentees as per the Representation of the People’s Act 1950 and Conduct of Election Rules 1961.
EDC: The DEO Dimapur has informed all Government employees, registered as a voter in any one of the 5 assembly segments and requisitioned for election duty under Dimapur District during the ensuing by-election to Lok Sabha 2018 to apply for Election Duty Certificate (EDC).
The DEO informed that a blank Form 12A can be obtained from EDC Cell, Deputy Commissioner office, Dimapur and EDC facilitation booth during training on May 19 at Dimapur Government College. Last date of submission of Form 12A along with photocopy of election duty derailment order, Service ID Card/EPIC is May 21.
The DEO also informed all drivers of requisitioned vehicles who wishes to exercise franchise on election duty to apply for Election Duty Certificate in Form 12A which entitles him to cast his vote in another polling station posted on the day of poll.
He informed the drivers to obtain blank Form 12A from the deputy commissioner office, Dimapur. Last date of submission of Form 12A along with photocopy of vehicle requisitioned order, service ID card/EPIC is May 23.
Wokha: DC & DEO Wokha, Dr. Manazir Jeelani Samoon, IAS has informed that the second round of training for polling personnel drafted for election duty is fixed on May 21&22 at GHSS from 10 am onwards. The training of Presiding Officers and Polling-I will be held on May 21 and Polling-II, Polling-III will be held on May 22.
All polling personnel have been informed to attend the training without fail. Disciplinary action shall be initiated against the absentees as per the relevant section of law.
The DC further informed that the third and final round of training for polling personnel is fixed on May 25 at GHSS Wokha from 10 am onwards.
Zunheboto: First round of training for polling personnel was held on May 16 at Government Higher Secondary School, Zunheboto for the upcoming Lok Sabha by-election. During the training, the polling personnel were briefed on their roles and function and Election Duty Certificate (EDC).
The master trainers who will be briefing the polling officials are Zuthunglo, Arenmenla, Lipokrenla, Newtoli, Jekugha, Atokishe, Oketo, Longthai, Hukashi and Hovini.
The second and third round of training for 2nd, 3rd and 4th polling officer will be held on May 23&24 respectively. And second and third phase of training for presiding and first polling officer will be held on May 22&24 at GHSS, Zunheboto from 1 pm to 4 pm.
Kiphire: The first round training for the polling personnel – Presiding Officers, 1st, 2nd, 3rd & 4th polling officers is being held at Government Higher Secondary School Kiphire on May 17&18. The second round training will be conducted on May 21&22. The training place will remain the same.
After the first session of training ADC Seyochung, Nchumbemo in a briefing said that due to shortage, the district was compelled to request manpower from the state capital in the last general election, however, the district will manage on its own this time. The ADC also informed head of offices not to ask any exemption unless a person is in sick bed, teachers & lecturers will also be detailed for polling duty. ADC Seyochung informed all the Grade IV staff who are detailed for domestic purpose during polling to come and give their attendance during office hour.
Peren: The first phase of training for Lok Sabha by-election for Presiding Officers and First Polling Officers began at Old Peren Town Hall on May 17.
ADC Peren, Sarita Yadav, IAS said the training was like a refresher course since general election was successfully conducted a couple of months back. She also appealed to the trainees to inform their fellow colleagues to turn up for training otherwise the action would be initiated. ADC also informed that medical examination for exemption of election by the medical board will be held on May 21.
There will be two phase training for Peren district. The whole state being a constituency, EDC will be used instead of postal ballot system.
Mokokchung: Additional Deputy Commissioner & chairman, Medical Board, Mokokchung W. Manpai Phom has informed all Government employees who have applied for exemption from polling duty on medical grounds to report at Superintendent of Excise Office, Mokokchung at 10 am on May 19.
Applicants are to produce medical investigation reports to the board. Those applicants who do not appear before the board will be deemed to have not applied for exemption.
Meanwhile SDO (C) Mokokchung, Longdiba L. Sangtam has informed all polling personnel, police personnel, drivers etc. who are in election duty that Form-12 A (Application for Election Duty Certification) will be issued from May 17 onwards from the office of the Deputy Commissioner & District Election Officer Office, Mokokchung and also at the training venue of polling personnel. The last date for submission of the form will be May 22, after which no application for Election Duty Certificate (EDC) will be accepted
(Page News Service)