Phek Dist Inter-Dept tourney concludes


Dimapur, October 9: The Phek District Inter Departmental Tournament culminated on October 5. The four-day event was held at Badminton Stadium Phek town organized by Officers’ Club Phek in collaboration with Evening Smashers Phek & Phek District Badminton Association. The closing programme was held at Badminton Stadium Phek town on October 5.
The programme was chaired by SDO(C) Phek, Zhoi Lohe.
Major Arpit, 22 AR Phek speaking on the occasion as Special Guest appreciated the organizing committee for organizing the Inter Departmental Tournament and stressed upon the importance of sports especially to the younger generations, since a sound mind and physical wellbeing can achieve through sports, he added.
Closing Remarks was given by Shiekhozo Asst. Controller, LM & CP, Phek followed with Closing Prayer by Nusakho Chiero Associate Pastor, PTBC.
Altogether 358 participants partake in the disciplines, Badminton, Arm Wrestling, Carom and Chess.
In the badminton Men Doubles Keyirangding Hegui & Vevosa Khamo (Rural Development) came first followed by Solo Lorin & Dr. Nutazo Lohe (Higher Education) as runners up. In Women Doubles, Nuvetalu Thira & Khosalu Keyho (Health & Family Welfare) and I.Asangla & Kewetsho-u Mero (District Jail) came first and second.
Nuzato Ruho (5th NAP Bn.) emerged as winner in Chess (Open Category) runners up went to Wekhrope mero (Health & Family Welfare) and Zachivo Chizo(District administration).
In Arm Wrestling (Men) Diethozo Koza(Forest) and Kuthoseyi Chizo (5th NAP Bn.) won first and second respectively.
In Arm Wrestling (Women) Neiphreno Nienu (Health & Family Welfare) and Neitshote-u Ritse (Health & Family Welfare) came first and second respectively.
In Carrom (Men Doubles) Martho Thur & Nukhohu Lohe (Health & Family Welfare) and Vephuta Nienu & Hudi Nusory (Agriculture) won first and second respectively.
In Carroom (Women Doubles) Zhovelu & Kethoselu Nienu (DEF) and Esther Natso & hekali Sumi (PWD NH) came first and second.
In Badminton (Mixed Doubles) Setichem Sangtam & Cizokholu Rhakho (5th NAP Bn.) and Solo Lorin & Vevotalu vero(Higher Education) won First and second respectively.
Health & Family Welfare Department emerged as Overall Group Champion and 5th NAP Bn. Came Second.
(Page News Service)