Thursday, July 18, 2024
Top Stories

Over 57% voting in 5th phase of LS polls


NEW DELHI, MAY 20: More than 57% voter turnout was recorded in the 5th phase of voting in the Lok Sabha election on Monday.
The voting for 49 parliamentary constituencies in 94,732 polling stations spread across 8 States and Union Territories that commenced amid tight security at 7 a.m. concluded at 6 p.m. The polling was reported to be by and large peaceful.
Out of the 49 Lok Sabha seats in the 5th phase, 14 parliamentary seats were from Uttar Pradesh, 13 from Maharashtra, 7 from West Bengal, 5 each from Bihar and Odisha, 3 from Jharkhand, 1 each from Jammu and Kashmir and Ladakh.
According to the data issued by the Election Commission of India (ECI) on its voter turnout app, the polling percentage was recorded at 57.51%. West Bengal recorded the highest turnout at 73%, Ladakh 67.15% and Jharkhand 63%.
Uttar Pradesh registered a 57.79% turnout and Jammu and Kashmir 54.67%, as per the data of the poll panel.
The fate of 695 candidates was sealed in the EVMs. Prominent candidates from the BJP are Union Ministers Rajnath Singh (Lucknow, Uttar Pradesh), Smriti Irani (Amethi) and Piyush Goyal (Mumbai North, Maharashtra), while from the Congress is Rahul Gandhi (Rae Bareli, Uttar Pradesh) and KL Sharma (Amethi).
Other key candidates in the 5h phase include former Jammu and Kashmir Chief Minister Omar Abdullah (Baramulla) and president of Lok Janshakti Party (Ram Vilas) Chirag Paswan (Hajipur, Patna).
Elections also took place for the 35 Assembly constituencies of the Odisha Assembly simultaneously. As per the voter turnout app, Odisha recorded 60.70% turnout in the 2nd phase.
The Lok Sabha elections are being held in 7 phases between April 19 and June 1. The 1st phase of polling was held on April 19, 2nd phase on April 26, 3rd phase on May 7 and 4th phase on May 13. The 1st phase recorded 66.14% voter turnout, 2nd 66.71%, 3rd 65.68% and 4th 69.16%.
The 6th phase of voting is scheduled to take place on May 25.
The results will be declared on June 4.
(Courtesy: TS)