Over 12.13 lakh voters to exercise franchise today in Nagaland; CEO appeals for ethical & informed voting

Over 12.13 lakh voters to  exercise franchise today in Nagaland; CEO appeals for ethical & informed voting

Kohima, April 10: Chief Electoral Officer (CEO) Nagaland, Abhijit Sinha, IAS has appealed to the electorates of Nagaland to exercise their franchise for the Lok Sabha elections and 26-Aonglenden Assembly seat without fear and ensure ethical and informed voting.
In his message to the electorates on the eve of the polls, Sinha urged the 12,13,777 electorates, including over 16,000 first time voters not to be influenced by any inducement but to consciously use their franchise.
Everything has been put in place for the conduct of peaceful polls for the lone Lok Sabha seat and the by-election to 26-Aonglenden assembly constituency, he said.
Talking to a section of media at his chamber Wednesday, the CEO said there have been no law and order problem while all polling parties have left for their respective polling stations and are expected to reach the 2227 polling stations spread over 12 election districts in the State.
He said 75 companies of security forces including Central Armed Police Force, IR and State Police and Home Guards supplemented by over a 1000 village guards have been deployed in the polling stations to thwart any untoward incident.
The CEO informed that Nagaland has a total of 12,13,777 electorates as on March 25, 2019, which is an increase of 30,805 voters from that of 2014 LS polls which had 11,82,972 voters.
In 2018 for the state general election, the State had 11,97,438 electorates, lesser by 16341 than this time.
Of the total 5,98,503 are female and 6,15,274 are male voters, he said.
The candidates for parliamentary poll are – INC candidate K L Chishi, PDA consensus candidate and NDPP nominee Tokheho Yepthomi, NPP’s Hayithung Tungoe and Independent Dr M M Thromwa Konyak.
The by-poll to 26-Aonglenden Assembly segment is a straight contest between the Congress nominee Alemjongshi Longkumer and Sharingain Longkumer of ruling NDPP.
Though two others Toshipokba Longkumer of NPF and O Tinu Longkumer of NPP had filed nominations but they pulled out from the fray on the last date of withdrawal on March 28.
The by-poll was necessitated following the demise of sitting ruling MLA Imtikumzuk in September last year.
Aonglenden A/C has a total of 12,436 electorates including 6146 male and 6290 female voters.
Voting will be held on April 11 from 7 am to 4 pm simultaneously for both the contests, the CEO said, adding that altogether 450 polling stations are declared as critical and vulnerable and those would be covered by web streaming and offline videography.
Since the date of enforcement of the Model Code of Conduct, he said that so far the cash seizure has been Rs 92,26,240, he said.
The cumulative monetary values of seizures including cash is 64,416.689 litres of liquor and other narcotic drugs is Rs 3,08,75,248, which is much higher than the seizure value of 2014 Lok Sabha poll in the State, the CEO added.
(Page News Service)