NPF to field Apok Jamir for LS bye-poll; Tokheho likely to be NDPP candidate

NPF to field Apok Jamir for LS bye-poll; Tokheho likely to be NDPP candidate

No nominations filed on Day-6

Kohima, May 8: With barely two days left for filing of nomination of bye-election to the lone Lok Sabha, the Opposition NPF has decided to field C Apok Jamir while the ruling Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party-led People’s Democratic Alliance is yet to decide its candidate.
NPF party sources confirmed that NPF central executive council today approved the name of former MP and MLA of Nagaland, C Apok Jamir for the May 28 Lok Sabha bye-election.
The cock party will organise a ticket distribution programme on Wednesday here at party Central Office. Leader of Opposition T R Zeliang and party president, Dr. Shurhozelie Liezietsu will address the programme.
On the other hand, sources in ruling PDA comprising of NDPP, BJP, NPP and Independent would be deciding their consensus candidate only on Wednesday.
NDPP secretary general Abu Metha said that PDA will meet Wednesday at 11 am at CMO here and decide whether or not to field consensus candidate for the bye-poll.
However, sources in NDPP said that in a late evening meeting held today, NDPP has decided to field former minister Tokheho Yepthomi to be the consensus candidate for PDA.
A name doing the rounds was former Chief Minister and BJP candidate, who had contested the February poll, KL Chishi. But saffron party leaders have remained tight-lipped about the candidature of Chishi.
While the State is gearing up for the bye-poll, most of the State unit of BJP leaders led by Deputy Chief Minister, Y. Patton are busy campaigning in poll bound Karnataka.
JD (U) which is part of the People’s Democratic Alliance (PDA) said it will contest the bye-election. The party in a release today said it has decided to field a candidate for the poll.
“The JD (U) will contest the election with the same manifesto that was released during the just concluded general election to the 13th Nagaland Legislative Assembly,” the release said.
But the State Unit president, NSN Lotha said they are yet to decide who will be their candidate.
Congress source said discussions are underway whether to field a candidate.
May 10 is the last date of filing nomination.
Lok Sabha bye-poll in Nagaland was necessitated following the resignation of then MP Neiphiu Rio to contest the state Assembly elections on February 17 last.
Rio contested the February 27 polls on NDPP ticket and was declared elected uncontested from 11-Northern Angami-II Assembly seat.
He is currently the Chief Minister of the State for the fourth term.
Meanwhile, Commissioner Nagaland, M Patton, who is also the returning officer for the bye-poll, interacting with a section of media persons said that no nomination were filed till the end official timing today. Nominations were opened on May 3 last.
Stating that political parties have two more days to file the nominations, he said that as RO his officials and staff are fully geared up for the smooth conduct of the bye-polls.
(Page News Service)