Wednesday, December 2, 2020
Top Stories

NPF, NPP candidates withdraw from race


Straight Cong-NDPP fight for Aonglenden by-election

Kohima, March 28: Under certain political arrangement with the ruling People’s Democratic Alliance (PDA), the Naga People’s Front (NPF) candidate, Toshikopkba Longkumer and NPP candidate O. Tinujungshi Longkumer have withdrawn from the electoral race for the 26 Aonlengden bye-election.
With this latest development the stage is set for direct contest between the NDPP and the Congress. Resignation of two has come as a surprise to NPF and the NPP. But the move has given a chance for the Congress to consolidate and reinforce its position to fight against the NDPP.
In 2011, Toshipokba on NPF ticket defeated Congress leader and five-time chief minister, Dr. S.C Jamir from 26-Aonglenden A/C in a by-election.
In a press statement Toshipokba and Tinujungshi said the PDA Government under the leadership of Chief Minister, Neiphiu Rio and Deputy Chief Minister Y. Patton had provided good governance, progressive development and stability in the State. “The vision and initiative of the PDA Government are well worth appreciating and we are witnessing positive change across the State. The political stand of the Government in its role of facilitator to the ongoing peace process for an early, honourable and inclusive political solution needs to be supported by all sections,” the duo said.
They said to strengthen the hands of the PDA Government and its leadership they have withdrawn from electoral race from Aonglenden Assembly Constituency and to support the NDPP candidate Sharingain.
They also assured to work for PDA candidates in the by-election and Lok Sabha.
More political drama is expected in the coming days.
The Aonlengden is a prestigious constituency – an epicentre of Naga politics which was held by former Chief Minister, S C Jamir for many years.
Separate photos of both of them posing with Chief Minister Rio and NDPP Minister for Urban Development i/c of Mokokchung district Metsubo Jamir was also attached with their statements and widely circulated in the social media.
Election to the Aonglenden constituency will be held simultaneously with the Lok Sabha election on April 11 from 7 a.m. to 4 p.m.
(Page News Service)