Friday, September 24, 2021
Top Stories

NPF files disqualification petition against 7 rebel MLAs


Dimapur, April 24: The Naga People’s Front (NPF) today filed disqualification petition against seven rebel party MLAs. The MLAs are EE Pangteang, Eshak Konyak, Kejong Chang, BS Nganglang, Toyang Chang, Thongwang Konyak and CL John.
The NPF said the reason of filling the disqualification petition against the seven erring MLAs is willfully defying the party’s collective decision to support the Congress party in the last Parliamentary Election 2019 to the lone Nagaland Parliamentary Constituency.
“It is crystal clear that by openly going against the party’s decision amounts to voluntarily giving up the membership of the party (NPF),” the party said in a communiqué.
Informing that the party had empowered its Legislature Wing to file and pursue the disqualification petitions against the erring MLAs, the communiqué informed that as empowered by the party, the NPF Legislature Wing filed the disqualification petition in the office of the Speaker, Nagaland Legislative Assembly.
The party hoped that the Speaker will dispose of the matter within time and without fear or favour as per law. (Page News Service)