Saturday, September 18, 2021
Top Stories

NPCC accepts defeat, thank voters


Dimapur, May 23: The Nagaland Pradesh Congress Committee (NPCC) has accepted the election results to the lone Nagaland Parliamentary constituency with all humility despite losing by a close margin.
“We are grateful to the people of Nagaland who exercised their conscience in voting for INC candidate to protect our belief, culture, traditions and way of life,” said the NPCC in a press release.
The Congress party extended heartfelt gratitude to NPF President Dr Shurhozelie Liezietsu, Secretary General & MP (RS) KG Kenye and all party rank and file for their magnanimity in whole heartedly throwing their support behind the Congress despite having 26 MLAs. It also thanked Leader of Opposition TR Zeliang and NPF legislators for their immense effort on ground together with ex candidates of NPF.
“Their support to Congress to protect the interest of our people against the onslaught of communal forces is worth appreciating for all times to come,” it said.
The NPCC also thanked INC candidate KL Chishi, ex-CM for taking the challenge to fight the Lok Sabha elections in order to defend the rights of the people. It thanked Congress party workers at all levels for remaining steadfast in their commitment to the principles and ideologies of Indian National Congress for the past 16 years and for selflessly slogging out against all odds despite meager/nonexistent resources to bring the INC candidate agonizingly close to victory.
The NPCC also congratulated Tokheho Yepthomi, NDPP candidate for winning the hard fought parliamentary election and wished him the best while discharging his duties as MP. The party hoped and prayed that he will stand firm and even rise above party politics to protect the interest of Naga people when the situation arises. (Page News Service)