Monday, June 21, 2021
Top Stories

No submissions of nominations for LS & 26-Aonglenden A/C on Day-II


Kohima, March 19: No nominations were filed as the second day of filing of nomination for the Lok Sabha seat and bye-poll to 26-Aonglenden Assembly constituency in Nagaland came to end on Tuesday.
No candidate submitted any document on the second day of the filing of nominations to both the seats in the State, confirmed Deputy Chief Electoral Officer, Nagaland, Awa Lorin.
Though nominations have been filed, the Lok Sabha poll is likely to witness a straight fight between Congress and ruling NDPP.
Congress has declared the name of former Chief Minister K L Chishi while ticket will be officially handed over on March 21 in Kohima. Congress does not have any MLA in the State.
On other hand, sitting lone Lok Sabha MP from the State and ruling NDPP nominee Tokheho Yepthomi has been declared as the consensus candidate of People’s Democratic Alliance, which comprises of BJP, JD(U), NPP and Independent.
Further, the only Opposition in the State Assembly, Naga People’s Front (NPF) which has 26 MLAs, is yet to decide whether to tussle for the lone LS seat or not.
However, Opposition Leader T R Zeliang said that two candidates have applied for the Party ticket, but didn’t reveal their name.
Party insiders revealed that former leader of BJP Nagaland unit, Hayithung Bill Lotha, who joined the NPF recently and former Naga Students’ Federation president and present NPF Central functionary Pushika Awomi are fighting for the ticket.
“Some good candidates are on the card but we are examining how best we can work out to see that secular forces work together”, said NPF president Dr Shurhozelie Liezietsu.
In this, he said, “we have been looking forward to make some suitable adjustment with some like-minded party and we will declare our decision in a day or two”.
Meanwhile, the 26-Aonglenden constituency, which is going to have bye-poll because of the demise of sitting NDPP MLA Imtikumzuk in September last year, has also not had any nominations for the first two days.
The fight for the bye-poll is likely multi-cornered as so NDPP led PDA has its consensus candidate Sharingain Longkumer, Congress has declared Alemjongshi Longkumer, NPF announced Toshipokba Longkumer while O. Tinujungshi Longkumer, younger brother of Late Imtikumzuk has also declared his candidature for the seat. (Page News Service)