Friday, February 26, 2021
Top Stories

No official move for NPF-BJP re-alliance: Zeliang


Kohima, August 7: Former Chief Minister, TR Zeliang today said that there is neither officially any move for NPF-BJP re-alliance nor possibilities of NPF merging with BJP to form a new Government in Nagaland.
Interacting with a section of reporters at NPF Central office here, Zeliang, who is also the leader of NPF legislature party said there have been no official discussion at the party level but discussions are being done at personal level to form a new Government in the State.
Zeliang said he has conveyed to the BJP that if they are comfortable with the present alliance with Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party (NDPP) than the NPF is ready to remain in opposition, but if not than they (NPF & BJP) can come together to form a new Government for the sake of Naga solution.
Teh NPF and BJP have functioned smoothly from 2003 to 2017 and there was no hiccups, he reasoned.
On the talks doing the round that the BJP has been asking for Chief Ministership and offering Deputy CM post to the NPF, Zeliang said, “So far we have not had any discussion on that.”
Asked about whether NPF was contemplating to merge with BJP, he said, “No we have not discussed as such in our legislature forum.”
On the disqualification petition filed by NPF against 7 rebel MLAs, Zeliang informed that the State Assembly Speaker has issued notification to them to reply within six weeks but they have sought additional six weeks time, which will end by September first week.
He said according to the Supreme Court ruling, the Speaker cannot keep the matter pending for more than four months.
“If the Speaker does not dispose the matter, than the party may approach the higher court,” Zeliang said.
It may be recalled that following seven NPF MLAs willfully defying the decision of the party to support Congress candidate KL Chishi in the last Lok Sabha polls, the NPF had filed the disqualification petition on April 24 last.
The seven MLAs are EE Pangteang, Eshak Konyak, Kejong Chang, BS Nganglang, Toyang Chang, Thongwang Konyak and CL John.
In the ongoing session of the State Assembly, which is the first session after the Lok Sabha polls, the sitting arrangement for the seven NPF MLAs continue to be in the opposition bench. (Page News Service)