Sunday, May 9, 2021

NFCA for free grassroots football coaching: Roko Angami

Fury FC lifts Summer Challenger Cup 2018

Fury FC lifts
NFCA President Roko Angami, dignitaries, organisers and the top two teams of Summer Challenger Cup at Medziphema Local Ground on August 3, 2018.

Medziphema, Aug 3: Nagaland Football Coaches Association (NFCA) today reiterated commitment to conduct free football coaching camps at the grassroots from 7-13 years of age.
NFCA President and senior Naga international footballer, Roko Angami made the reiteration as the guest of honour of the valedictory function of Summer Challenger Cup 2018 organised by Catalyst for Change (C4C) at Local Ground, Medziphema.
Roko said that NFCA has over 60 football coaches and interested football clubs and groups can approach NFCA for conduct of the camps in their respective districts.
He recalled his early days of playing football in the local ground Medziphema and stepping to achieve the international level with support and prayers of coaches, colleagues and elders.
Expressing that there is no shortcut to success in any field, including sports and that players should not depend on VIP recommendations, he said the biggest recommendation is accepting elders blessing.
Encouraging the players to be disciplined, have self control and to be hard-working to be successful and professional player, Roko however lamented that many Naga players have the habit of partying and consuming harmful substnces despite a win or loss in a game which ultimately destroys the career options.
He also urged players not to be proud you but to humble themselves, respect the seniors and always be under the guidance of the team coaches.
Further, Roko also assured to extend any possible support to uplift the game of football in Medziphema and rest of the State.
Accompanied by NFCA general secretary Ayeto Ayemi and NAYO joint secretary Atseizo Sorü, Roko gave away the prizes to the winners.
Meanwhile playing the final match Fury FC defeated Matador FC by 4-1 to lift the coveted champions trophy.
The champions received cash award of Rs 50,000 with trophy while runners-up got Rs 30,000 with citation.
Other individual awards went to:
Best Goalkeeper- Dziesengulie of United Falcon FC
Highest Scorers – Khriese Terhüja of Matador FC and Nachanso of Ngalwa FC with five goals each.
Player of the Tournament – Haotinlen Thomson of Fury FC.
They received cash award and citation.
(Page News Service)