Sunday, January 17, 2021
North East

New NEHUTA elected body takes charge

Dimapur, June 19: The newly elected Executive Committee of NEHUTA for the year 2020-21 has assumed charge of office from outgoing body today in a simple function held at NEHU, Shillong.
The Election Committee formed under its Constitution completed the election process on June 12, 2020 and notified election to the offices of the Association.
The NEHUTA, being a watchdog association empowered under NEHU Act, 1973 has been consistently working for the welfare of teachers and raising matters of collective grievance to authorities supposed to deal with these grievances. Grievances concerning violation of Act, statute, ordinances have been a major focus of NEHUTA since 2018. Another major concern was raising standards and organizing teachers to work for uplift of the University in the larger interest of students, guardians and the larger society.
The newly elected body comprises of 11 members: Prof. X P Mao has been elected as President and Dr. Marbhador M. Khymdeit as General Secretary for the year. Apart from them, Prof. U.K. De is elected as Vice-President, Dr. Jiwesh Binong as Joint Secretary and Dr. (Ms.) J. I.Rapthap as Treasurer are also elected. Rest of the elected Executive Committee comprise of Prof. D. Syiem, Prof. (Ms.) Esther Syiem, Dr. P. Biswas, Dr. D. Pyngrope, Dr.(Ms.)J.J. Thabah, Dr. (Ms.) Ramona M. Sangma from Tura Campus. For the first time, the NEHUTA got an elected teacher from Tura campus to represent issues of teachers of Tura campus in various statutory forums of the University and Government.
The NEHUTA members reaffirmed their united effort to lead NEHU out of its present deteriorating condition. The NEHUTA pledged its commitment for the overall welfare of the University.
The elected body further solicited support, cooperation and suggestion of all the faculty members of NEHU and its affiliated institutions to build up a stronger teachers’ fraternity to pursue objectives set by national teachers’ bodies like All India Federation of University and College Teachers’ Organization(AIFUCTO) and Federation of Central Universities’ Teachers’ Associations(FEDCUTA).
(Page News Service)