Sunday, April 21, 2024
Top Stories

Neiphiu Rio takes oath as CM for 5th time; Zeliang & Patton become Dy CMs


Salhoutuonuo Kruse first woman Minister & 8 others take oath

KOHIMA, MARCH 7: Nagaland Chief Minister Neiphiu Rio was today sworn-in as Chief Minister of Nagaland for the 5th consecutive time along with two Deputy Chief Ministers and 9 Council of Ministers, including first ever woman Minister of the State.
This is the 5th time that Rio has become Chief Minister.
He is the longest serving CM not only in Nagaland but also among Northeastern States, as he overtook former Chief Minister Dr. SC Jamir, who held the chair for little over 15 years on different occasions.
Rio first became Chief Minister in 2003 of the then NPF-BJP’s Democratic Alliance of Nagaland (DAN) Government and retained power for 3 consecutive terms including 2008 and 2013.
He resigned as CM in May 2014 and went to Lok Sabha but returned to State in 2018 and once again became CM for the 4th time as leader of the newly formed Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party (NDPP)-BJP’s People’s Democratic Alliance (PDA).
Rio has already completed little over 16 years as CM and is continuing for the 5th term.
Nagaland Governor La Ganesan administered the oath of office and secrecy during a public function held for the first time ever in the presence of Prime Minister Narendra Modi, Union Home Minister Amit Shah and BJP President JP Nadda at the Capital Cultural Hall, Kohima.
Assam Chief Minister & Convenor of Northeast Democratic Alliance (NEDA) Himanta Biswa Sarma and Union Minister of State for Social Justice and Empowerment and RPI (A) national president Ramdas Athawale were also present during the swearing-in ceremony.
On the occasion, Nagaland scripted history as two Deputy Chief Ministers ~ NDPP’s TR Zeliang, also a former CM, and BJP’s Yanthungo Patton ~ and also first woman Cabinet Minister – Salhoutuonuo Kruse took oath.
Rio’s Cabinet has 7 NDPP legislators and 5 from BJP.
Other Council of Mnisters include G Kaito Aye, KG Kenye, Metsubo Jamir and CL John of NDPP while BJP Ministers are N Jacob Zhimomi, P Paiwang Konyak, Temjen Imna Along and P Bashangmonba Chang.
Kenye, a second time MLA and former MP of Rajya Sabha, along with Kruse and Chang are the only fresh faces in Rio-5 Ministry while others have already been with him in the past Governments.
Talking to a section of media after the swearing in ceremony, the first woman Cabinet Minister, Kruse expressed happiness for being inducted into the State Cabinet. Asked what portfolio she aspires to take care of, Kruse asserted to work sincerely for the people given whatever portfolio.
Meanwhile, interacting with media-persons after the ceremony, Rio expressed happiness and thanked the elected representatives and the people of the State for giving him the 5th term as Chief Minister.
On other political parties ~ NCP, NPP, Naga People’s Front, RPI (A), LJP (Ram Vilas), JDU ~ and Independent MLAs extending support for an opposition-less government, he said the pre-poll alliance would have deliberations for a final decision soon.
He also said that portfolios of Cabinet Ministers and accommodation of other MLAs as Advisors would be done within a couple of days.
(Page News Service)