NEHUTA elects office bearers


Dimapur, May 16: The North-Eastern Hill University Teachers’ Association held its election for the representatives in various posts of office bearers and members of the Executive Committee for the year 2019-20. The newly elected office bearers are Prof Xavier P Mao-president; Prof Utpal Kumar De-vice president; Dr Marbhador Manick Khymdeit-general secretary; Dr Phrangstone Khongji-joint secretary; Dr Pankaj Sarkar-treasurer.
The other members of the Executive Committee include Prof. Donkupar Syiem, Prof. Shobhan N. Lamare, Prof. S.B.Prasad, Prof. A K Nongkynrih, Dr. (Ms.) Jacqueline J. Thabah and Dr. Prasenjit Biswas.
The Executive Committee in its first meeting expressed serious concern over the inordinate delay and stagnation in all spheres of functioning of the premier Central University, particularly, in career advancement of Assistant Professors from stage I to II to III, which is a routine matter.
The new NEHUTA Executive decided to launch a series of agitations to improve the condition of the University and stop its deterioration any further.
During Prof. S.K. Srivastava’s three and half years tenure, not a single hostel has been built and the students are forced to stay in expensive and congested private hostels, far away from the University campus, resulting in a toll on their health and academic performance, it said.
The NEHUTA called upon the NEHU administration to resolve these and other urgent issues on a war footing to save the premier University of national importance.
(Page News Service)