Sunday, July 14, 2024

NEEPCO State level painting competition held

painting competition

Kohima, December 8: Vivan Poddar of Hope Academy School Dimapur and Delphi Oinam of Don Bosco Higher Secondary School Dimapur today won the State Level Painting Competition on “Energy Conservation” held in Kohima.
The competition was organized by the North Eastern Electric Power Corporation (NEEPCO) Ltd, Doyang Hydro Power Station under the aegis of Ministry of Power, Government of India through Bureau of Energy Efficiency as part of National Campaign on Energy Conservation at Hotel East Gate here. Nagaland State Designated Agency, Government of Nagaland also supported the event.

Director of School Education Department, Wonthungo Tsopoe graced the occasion stressed on the necessity to conserve energy by everyone. Encouraging students, he said education is not only confined to the four walls of the classroom but it should be for all round development of a child. In order to attain quality education, one has to learn out of the box and participate in this kinds of activities alongside classroom teaching.
Terming the competition a good initiative of the ministry, he suggested notifying the annual tentative dates so that participation of schools would be more.
Tsopoe also gave away prizes to the winners.
The first, second and third position in both Group A and B category carried a cash prize of Rs. 50,000, Rs. 30,000 and Rs. 20,000 respectively while 10 consolation winners were awarded Rs. 7,500 each.
General Manager (E/M) NEEPCO Ltd Kalyan Barman and Deputy Manager (HR), NEEPCO Ltd Laishram Yaimaba Khuman were also present at the event.
The winners of the two categories are:
Group ‘A’ – Classes 8 to 10:
1st: Vivan Paddar, Hope Academy School Dimapur
2nd: Seyiesinuo Yhome, Little Flower Higher Secondary School Kohima
3rd: Imkongsenla, Little Star Higher Secondary School Dimapur
Consolation winners: Besüvelü Tunyi, G. Rio School Kohima; Siedzelenuo Sachü, Baptist High Kohima; Deborah Shitiri, Little Star School Dimapur; Arpita Dey, St. Mary’s Higher Secondary School Dimapur; Masuma Yasmin, St. Paul Higher Secondary School Dimapur; Amongsen Evan Yanthan, Don Bosco Higher Secondary School Wokha; Nilika Swu, Baptist High Kohima; Shrishant Debnath, St. Mary’s Higher Secondary School Dimapur; Vallensolo Chang, G. Rio School Kohima and Temsiirenla Ao, VKV Doyang.
Group’B” – Classes 5 to 7:
1st: Delphi Onaim, Don Bosco Higher Secondary School Dimapur
2nd: Michael Yanthan, St. Mary’s Higher Secondary School Dimapur
3rd: Victor D. Sangma, VKB Doyang
Consolation winners: Kevilhunyu Nakhro, BMS Jotsoma Kohima, Bhamni Hazarika, St. Mary’s Higher Secondary School Dimapur, Benry B. Odyuo, DBHSS Wokha; Atou Chüsi, Fernwood School Kohima; Rokoleto Peseyie, BMS Jotsoma Kohima; Mhajan S. Ezung, DBHSS Wokha; Zaara Abdul, Hope Academy Dimapur; Smiti Topno, DBHSS Wokha; Yimyangtula Longkumer, G. Rio School Kohima and Mhayani R. Kikon, DBS Wokha. (Page News Service)