Thursday, February 22, 2024
Top Stories

NDPP’s Wangpang Konyak wins 43-Tapi A/C by-poll

Wangpang Konyak

DIMAPUR, DECEMBER 3: Wangpang Konyak of the ruling National Democratic Progressive Party (NDPP) emerged triumphant in the by-poll for the 43-Tapi Assembly seat in Nagaland’s Mon district on Sunday, officials said.
Defeating Congress candidate Wanglem Konyak by a substantial margin of 5,333 votes, Wangpang Konyak secured 10,053 votes for the NDPP, while the Congress candidate garnered 4,720 votes, marking a significant win for the ruling party.
The by-poll, held on November 7, witnessed an impressive voter turnout of 96.25%. With only two candidates in the fray, Wangpang Konyak, the NDPP nominee, was the joint candidate of the People’s Democratic Alliance.
The by-poll was necessitated following the untimely death of NDPP MLA Noke Wangnao on August 28. Having served as the MLA of the constituency for the last 10 terms, Wangnao’s demise led to the vacancy.
Chief Minister Neiphiu Rio, the leader of the NDPP, extended his heartfelt congratulations to Wangpang Konyak, expressing best wishes for his service to constituents and the people of Nagaland. “I also congratulate the Party workers and well-wishers”, he posted on social media platform X.
Deputy Chief Minister Y Patton of the BJP also conveyed congratulations to Wangpang Konyak and the ally NDPP for the resounding victory. “This win demonstrates the people’s faith in our alliance and the visionary leadership of CM Rio. This emphatic win has shown that the NDPP-BJP alliance truly represents the hopes and aspirations of the Naga people”, he stated.
Nagaland Minister for Housing & Mechanical Engineering P Bashang Chang said, “I convey my heartfelt Congratulations to Shri. Wangpang Konyak on your swiping victory in the recent by-election, 43 Tapi constituency, Mon. Your victory has proved how blessings @NDPPofficial & @BJP4Nagaland alliance in our state is. @Neiphiu_Rio @narendramodi @AmitShah.”
In the 60-member Assembly, the NDPP commands 25 members, the BJP has 12, NCP has 7, and the NPP has 5 MLAs. LJP (Ram Vilas), Naga People’s Front (NPF), and RPI (Athawale) have 2 MLAs each, while the JD(U) has 1 member, and there are 4 Independents.
All legislators are supporting the NDPP-BJP alliance, ensuring an opposition-less Government in the State for a third term.
(Page News Service)