Tuesday, September 21, 2021
Top Stories

NDPP thanks voters for electing party candidates


Dimapur, May 23: The NDPP has expressed gratitude to the people and electorates of Nagaland for having reposed their faith in the NDPP-PDA candidates Tokheho Yepthomi and Sharingain Longkumer. It also thanked party rank and file, alliance partners BJP, JD(U) and Independent for thr victory.
Stating that the counting of votes on May 23 was an exciting journey especially for the lone Lok Sabha seat, the NDPP commended the electorates for allowing true democracy to prevail.
“The fact that the counting of votes went down to the wire only proves that democracy is alive in the state and this is the way that an election should be conducted,” it said and lauded the Election Commission of India, the CEO and election department of Nagaland, Chief Secretary and the Director General of Police along with the entire government machinery for the successful completion of the 2019 elections.
The NDPP also thanked the opposition parties, especially the Congress candidates K. L. Chishi and Alemjongshi Longkumer for having given a spirited fight and said it looks forward to working towards building a better Nagaland as it needs a strong opposition to maintain checks and balances in governance. The party also thanked the Church, tribal hohos, CSOs and NGOs for their active participation in the conduct of free and fair elections.
The NDPP further congratulated Prime Minister Narendra Modi, BJP National President Amit Shah and the rank and file of the BJP led NDA for the emphatic win in the 2019 general elections. “We look forward to working together under the dynamic and able leaderships of the Hon’ble Prime Minister Mr. Narendra Modi and the Hon’ble Chief Minister Mr. Neiphiu Rio,” it said.
(Page News Service)