NDPP-BJP alliance confident of securing majority

NDPP-BJP alliance confident  of securing majority

Dimapur, March 1: The NDPP-BJP alliance has expressed confidence of forming a stable government by securing a clear majority on their own.
In a meeting of the NDPP-BJP Alliance Coordination Committee held at Kohima, the committee discussed the formation of government in a smooth manner in the greater interest of the people of Nagaland.
The meeting also took stock of the political situation after the conduct of elections to the Nagaland Legislative Assembly.
The alliance congratulated the people of Nagaland for participating in the elections and coming out in huge numbers to cast votes and participate in the most important democratic exercise. The participation of the people and electorate in a positive manner has sent out the right signal and has further strengthened the democratic foundations of the country, it said.
While appreciating the active role of the people, the alliance expressed condolence to the lives lost in poll related violence and accidental death. It also condemned the election related violence and called upon the concerned authorities and law enforcing agencies to ensure that justice is delivered.
It also wished speedy recovery for the injured and prayed for the departed souls.
The alliance further extended its appreciation to the Election Commission of India, the Election Department in Nagaland, especially the administration and police for carrying out their responsibilities in commendable manner and carrying out the entire election process in exemplary fashion.
It also extended its appreciation to the civil societies, NGOs and the masses for contributing towards the successful conduct of elections. “The movement of clean election campaign under the leadership of the church needs the appreciation of all sections and though the challenges were significant, we can positively say that the movement is significant and has the potential to change our society for the better,” a press release issued by NDPP secretary general, Abu Metha and Convenor BJP Election Committee, Dr M Chuba Ao stated.
The meeting was attended by Chingwang Konyak, president, NDPP; Visasolie Lhoungu, president, BJP Nagaland; Dr M Chuba Ao, convenor, BJP election committee; Alemtemshi Jamir, working president, NDPP; M Kikon, co-convenor, BJP election committee; Abu Metha, secretary general, NDPP; Rusemtong Longkumer, general secretary, NDPP and Tokheho, member NDPP Parliamentary Board. (Page News Service)