Nagaland election campaigning ends; polling on Feb 27

Nagaland election campaigning ends; polling on Feb 27

Kohima, February 25: Campaigning for the February 27 polls in Nagaland ended this evening with NDPP-BJP alliance making rigorous effort to break the 15-years old spell of ruling NPF.
The ruling Naga People’s Front (NPF) which entered into alliance with National People’s Party (NPP) only after the filing of nominations has been propagating against the alleged ‘unholy’ alliance between newly floated NDPP and BJP.
The pre-poll alliance Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party (NDPP) and BJP which is contesting in 60 seats with 40:20 seat sharing formula, during its campaign trail led by Chief Ministerial candidate Neiphiu Rio has been lambasting the four-years of internal crisis within ruling NPF while assuring of change for the State.
BJP brought in Prime Minister Narendra Modi in Tuensang while Union Defence Minister, Nirmala Sitharaman came to Dimapur and Union Minister of State for Home Kiren Rijiju along with BJP secretary, i/c of North East Ram Madav campaigned in different parts of the State.
Congress, which is contesting in 18 seats was more or less silent with AICC Observer for Nagaland, Capt Praveen Davar remaining in the State. He said the Congress’ win will be “a decisive factor in the formation of a secular government in Nagaland.
There are 195 candidates for the 59 seats while the 11-Northern Angami-II seat has been declared elected unopposed by former three times Chief Minister Neiphiu Rio.
The contesting parties are: NPF – 58, Congress – 18, BJP – 20, NDPP – 39, NPP – 25, NCP – 6, JD(U) – 13, AAP – 3, LJP – 2 and 11 Independents.
Retired Chief Secretary of Nagaland, Alemtemshi Jamir is the only candidate who will be contesting in two seats Angetyongpang and Mongoya on NDPP ticket.
Fifteen constituencies will have straight fights between NPF-BJP and NPF-NDPP candidates.
21-Tuli Assembly Constituency in Mokokchung district has the highest candidates with 7.
Altogether 52 sitting MLAs of the 12th NLA are seeking re-election this time.
Incumbent Chief Minister, T R Zeliang re-contesting on NPF ticket from 7-Peren A/C under Peren district will be have a triangular contest with Iherie Ndang of NDPP and Independent candidate Kengim Kulimbe.
Former Chief Minister, K L Chishi, who is contesting on BJP ticket will have one-on-one challenge with NPF candidate Picto for 32-Atoizu seat under Zubheboto district.
Speaker of the 12th NLA, Dr Imtiwapang Aier will also have a straight contest with retired Nagaland Commissioner, T N Mannen of NDPP in 23-Impur A/C of Mokokchung district.
Five women candidates, highest in the State elections so far, are also contesting the polls. They are: Wedie-u Kronu and Dr Mangyangpula of NPP for 3-Dimapur-III A/C and 51-Noksen A/C, Rekha Rose Dukru as Independent for 17-Chizami A/C, Rakhila for BJP under Tuensang Sadar-II A/C and NDPP nominee Awan Konyak for 47-Aboi A/C.
The state has 11,91,513 voters comprising of 601707 male 589806 female. There is no third-gender voter in the State.
Altogether 281 companies of Central Armed Police Force, beside the state police force, are deployed for the conduct of the polls.
Over 15,000 government employees are detailed for actual polling duty.
The 55 election observers include 22 each general and Election observers and 11 Police observer.
Voting in 2156 polling stations spread over 12 election districts will be held on February 27 from 7 am to 4 pm, while in some polling stations in interior districts polling will end at 3pm.
All women polling station is 177 across 25 constituencies.
During the campaigning period the Flying Squad and Static Surveillance Team has seized more than Rs 114 lakh and over 31000 litres of liquor. Altogether 152 FIR were lodged.
(Page News Service)