Sunday, May 19, 2024

Mushtaq Ali Trophy: Nagaland collect third win

Syed Mushtaq Ali T20 Trophy

DIMAPUR, JANUARY 17: Sixteen-year-old leg-spinner Khrievitso Kense was among the wickets again as Nagaland collected their third win on the trot in the ongoing Syed Mushtaq Ali T20 Trophy, defeating Mizoram by 77 runs on Sunday at Sri Sivasubramaniya Nadar College of Engineering Ground, Chennai in Tamil Nadu.

Kense shared three wickets apiece with Nagaho Chishi to restrict Mizoram to 101 all out in 19.1 overs while chasing 179.
In the previous match against Sikkim, Kense took 3-27. On Sunday, he returned with figures of 3-16 off 4 overs, including the wicket of top scorer Lalhmangaiha, who struck 39 off 41 balls.
After winning the toss, Nagaland skipper Jonathan Rongsen had elected to bat first.
He led the charge with the bat, collecting 51 runs off 32 balls with 4 fours and 2 sixes.
Guest players Shrikant Mundhe and Chetan Bist (wicket-keeper) made significant contributions again, with respective scores of 32 and 30.
With the win, Nagaland’s point tally in Plate Group reached 14 in 4 games, to place it joint-second with Chandigarh, behind only Bihar who has 16 points from the same number of games.
Nagaland will play against Manipur next on January 19.
Inter-district tourney
The first G Rio Memorial U-19 (Boys) inter-district tournament organised by Nagaland Cricket Association will start on January 18 at Nagaland Cricket Stadium, Sovima, Dimapur.
The inaugural match will be played between Dimapur and Mokokchung at 7.30 am followed by another match between Kohima and Tuensang at 11.45 am.
Entry will be free and gate No. 2 of the stadium will be open for spectators.
Live score updates of the tournament will be available at
(Page News Service)