Thursday, June 17, 2021

Mushtaq Ali Trophy: Emphatic win for Nagaland; joint-second in Plate Group

Mushtaq Ali Trophy 1

DIMAPUR, JANUARY 13: An unbeaten second-wicket partnership of 122 runs between guest players Chetan Bist and Shrikant Mundhe delivered Nagaland its first win in this year’s edition of Syed Mushtaq Ali T20 Trophy (Plate Group) on Wednesday at Chennai in Tamil Nadu.

Both the guest players struck rapid fifties as Nagaland defeated Arunachal Pradesh by 9 wickets after they were set a target of 146 in their second match of the competition.
Mundhe top-scored with 69 of 47 deliveries, which included 10 fours and 1 six; wicket-keeper Bist, who opened the innings with captain Jonathan Rongsen, struck 3 fours and 4 sixes in his 50 off 37 balls.
Rongsen, who was the only Nagaland batsman to be dismissed, contributed 20 off 11 balls, which included 2 fours and 1 six.
Nagaland achieved the target (149/1) with 25 balls to spare.
Earlier, Arunachal skipper Neelam Obi won the toss and elected to bat first.
Techi Doria was the highest scorer for Arunachal with 36 off 35 deliveries. He was dismissed by 16-year-old Khrievitso Kense, who was making his debut for Nagaland.
Two other Nagaland players made their debut: Hem Chetri and Joshua Ozukum.
With the win, Nagaland’s point tally reached 9 in the Plate Group and is joint-second with Chandigarh. Bihar leads the group with 8 points in two games.
Nagaland’s first game against Chandigarh was washed out due to bad weather.
(Page News Service)