Friday, April 19, 2024

More resign from NPP

Nagaland News

DIMAPUR, JULY 1: Joining the others who had earlier resigned from NPP Nagaland citing their loss of faith in the leadership of the state president Dr. Andrew Ahoto Sema, three more leaders on Friday resigned from the party citing the same reason and adding that Sema’s leadership is autocratic and a political party cannot be treated as a proprietorship.
Tohovi Achumi, State General Secretary (IPR and Media) of NPP, who was one of the three who had resigned, told the media persons here at Emerald Inn, Duncan Basti, Dimapur, that Sema’s claim after the resignation of a number of party members last week that they comprise only 2% of the party is absurd and they indeed comprise 80% and not otherwise.
He pointed out that all ranks and files of the party in Mon, Tuensang, Mokokchung, Kiphire have already resigned, and only 3 remained i.e., Dimapur, Phek, Wokha. Furthermore, the president of Dimapur resigned last year and it’s not active anymore; Wokha unit is only mobilized from Longsha and Phek unit is only active at Pfutsero.
Rajen Timung, former President of NPP, Karbi Anglong, who was also present during the interaction with the media clarified that he had joined the party under the leadership of Limanuksung Longkumer and from the party he received no logistic support from the centre and there was no leadership.
He revealed that prior to the KAAC elections, he and two others had met NPP National General Secretary James Sangma and had urged him to come to Karbi Anglong before the visit of PM Narendra Modi, but despite his assurance they never visited. Timung stated that he has already dissolved the NPP Hills Autonomous Committee because of NPP national leadership.
Claiming that there will be no political career for anyone if they stay with NPP, Timung alleged that NPP being an alliance partner of NEDA, the National leadership don’t want to strengthen the party in Karbi Aglong and even in Nagaland. Adding to Timung, Achumi said that NPP Nagaland’s rejoinder and targeting one particular individual for the results of KAAC elections is wrong and it is the National leadership that should be blamed instead.
He assured that the resignations are non-negotiable, as they did try to reach out to the National leadership before but got no desired result and refrained from commenting on anything if there would be more such resignations in the days to come.
He also dismissed Sema’s claim that the district presidents were not performing and stated that even the district presidents were sometimes paying from their own pockets and if he thinks they were not performing, he should have taken care of that with appropriate measures in time as they were directly answerable to him.
During the interaction, he also read out the resignation letter to be sent to the party office in New Delhi. The two others who had resigned on Friday were State President, Women Wing, Yashila Ao, and State Working President, Women Wing Ruth Pochury. (Page News Service)