Saturday, June 22, 2024
North East

M Chuba assigned to campaign for a month in Outer Manipur

Nirendra Dev
NEW DELHI, MAY 23: Across all Lok Sabha segments and important States, Central Ministers and senior MPs have been directed by BJP central leadership to step for the month-long campaign and party programmes beginning May 30.
The exercise to continue till June 30 is being organised to mark completion of 9 years in office by the BJP Government.
Chuba Ao and Union MoS Education Subhas Sarkar will work on these programmes in Sikkim and in Outer Manipur, sources said.
At present Lorho S Pfoze of NPF is representing Outer Manipur in Lok Sabha.
For Arunachal Pradesh East seat, the party leadership has nominated Union Minister of State for Education Subhas Sarkar to lead the party campaign programme for a month. He will be accompanied by BJP national vice president M Chuba Ao.
There are substantial Naga ethnic groups residing in Arunachal Pradesh East. BJP MP Tapir Gao represents Arunachal East.
When contacted, BJP national vice president M Chuba Ao told this Scribe, “This programme has nothing to do with violence. Honourable Home Minister Amit Shah ji and Chief Minister N Biren Singh will handle that. Me and our good friend Subhas Sarkar will focus on the month-long programme chiefly trying to reach out to people before next year’s LoK Sabha polls.”
Union Minister of State for Skill Development and Entrepreneurship, Rajiv Chandrashekhar will be engaged full time for month-long BJP programmes in Meghalaya in connection with the completion of 9 years in office by the Modi Government.
Sources said Dilip Jaiswal, BJP in-charge for Sikkim, will also be also joining him.
Notwithstanding violence and political turmoil, the central BJP has planned a similar programme in tribal dominated Outer Manipur Lok Sabha constituency.
The BJP has planned a month-long programmes at various levels across the country including
organising 51 public rallies.
The month-long programme will also have interaction with Social Media Influencers and businessmen and intellectuals at various mega development project sites.
There will be a ‘Sampark se Samarthan’ programme across the country and this will have outreach to at least 1000 influential people for each Lok Sabha constituency.
Meghalaya has 2 Lok Sabha seats and it is being speculated that the saffron party may insists with its State-level ally NPP of Conrad Sangma for 1 seat.
The BJP had contested all 60 seats in Meghalaya in February polls this year but could retain only 2 seats it had won in 2018.
NPP chief Conrad’s sister Agatha Sangma, also a former Union Minister, now represents Tura parliamentary constituency in Garo Hills while Sate Congress president Vincent H Pala is the Shillong MP.
There is a proposal to organise a ‘Prabudh Sammelan’ on June 25, 2023 under which the Prime Minister’s ‘Mann Ki Baat’ programme will be listened to by party leaders, Ministers and Karyakartas across the country.
Moreover, as June 25 coincides with the anniversary of the imposition of Emergency, leaders and party workers will also see video documentaries on Emergency.
Notably, various achievements of the Modi Government will be highlighted during the month long exercise.
The Modi Government has fulfilled one major electoral promise of the BJP or Jan Sangh since their foundations. The Government on Aug. 5, 2019, abrogated Article 370 of the constitution in Jammu and Kashmir and also bifurcated the province and declared Ladakh as a separate Union Territory.
The Modi Government in 2014 took over the reins of power on May 26 and 5 years later after the renewed mandate wherein the Lotus party could pick up 303 seats, the Prime Minister and his ministerial colleagues were again sworn in on May 30, 2019.
On May 30 or 31, 2023, a mega rally will be addressed by Prime Minister Modi marking the launch of the month-long programme.
The 51 rallies as proposed will be organised at Lok Sabha parliamentary constituencies, which will be addressed by Union Ministers, BJP national office bearers, Chief Ministers,
Leaders of Opposition, State presidents and others.