Saturday, April 17, 2021

LS poll conducted peacefully across State

LS poll peacefull

A lady voter getting her finger inked form the 2nd Polling Officer on the polling day at Kohima district. (DPRO, Kohima) / Voters in queue to franchise thier votes at 26 Aonglende By-Election at Ungma. (DPRO Mkg)

Dimapur, April 11: The 17th Lok Sabha Elections was conducted peacefully in Dimapur district today with no untoward incidents reported.
Dimapur district has a total of 20,6188 electorate and 335 polling stations was set up to enable the electors to exercise their franchise.
NDPP and PDA consensus candidate for the lone Lok Sabha seat for Nagaland, Tokheho casted his vote from Naharbari Government High School, polling booth No.7, Dimapur III at around 7:10 am.
Till 4:20 pm, poll percentage for Dimapur district was 72.65%. It was reported that 8 Ballot Units, 13 Control Units and 17 VVPATs were replaced at the time of mock poll in different polling stations at Dimapur while another 3 BUs, 3 CUs and 6 VVPATs were added during actual poll due to defective EVMs.
DC Dimapur Kevekha Kevin Zehol, visited some polling stations before polling started to ensure that everything was set properly for smooth conduct of the Lok Sabha polls. Both young and old voters were seen casting their votes in different polling stations.
Kohima: Kohima district successfully conducted the Lok Sabha Election 2019 in all the 226 polling stations across the district.
Out of 226 polling stations, 28 polling stations have live webcasted the polling process and six polling stations were set up with offline video recording system.
A total of 1130 polling personnel performed their assigned duties successfully on the actual ground of the polling day whereas a number of 170 polling personnel were placed in the reserved list for any emergency replacement.
With series of awareness campaign on ‘Clean Elections’ under Kohima district SVEEP campaign, the election was conducted successfully where the voters turned out with their EPIC card to exercise their franchise and in absence of the card they were allowed to cast their votes by producing any one of the eleven documents as given by the ECI for identity proof in almost all the polling stations under the district.
Tuensang: DC & DEO Tuensang Mohammed Ali Shihab along with the Expenditure Observer DeepakBhai Zala and SP Tuensang Bharat Laxman Markad visited almost all the polling stations within Tuensang Sadar-1 and some under Sadar -2. PwDs voters were helped by students of St. John’s Higher Secondary School Tuensang.
The volunteers were of the view that PwDs are usually neglected during such occasions and it was a satisfying experience to be helping them.
Mokokchung: Election to the lone Lok Sabha seat from Nagaland and by-election to the 26 Aonglenden assembly constituency concluded with no untoward incident in any of the polling station in Mokokchung District. The polling ended peacefully in all the polling stations at 4 pm. Combined efforts of election officials, District administration, security personnel and local authorities ensured the conduct of the election process in a fair and peaceful manner in all the polling stations across the District.
Polling process started at 7 am, and long queue of voters were seen in all the polling stations. Special provisions for the aged and people with disabilities were provided in the polling stations, enabling them to exercise their franchise. (Page News Service)